Flying, fatties, salt cathedrals and random modes of transport!


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia
February 13th 2008
Published: February 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I´ve been rocking around the country for the past few weeks trying to see as much of it as I possibly can!

MEDELLIN
The hostel I was staying in was in a very trendy, rich area. Lots of cool, well dressed people, lots of silicone implants! The best thing I did there was to go paragliding. I never thought that paragliding was something I´d want to do, but for 20 quid for a tandem ride, I couldn´t say no! It was so much fun! It was a little bit scary when you had to run really fast at the beginning to lift yourself off the hillside, but the rest of the ride wasn´t scary at all!

BOGOTA
I was really surprised how much I liked the capital city of Colombia. There were lots of really nice things to do and see, and a good nightlife too. One of my highlights was visiting a gallery displaying paintings and sculptures by the Columbian artist Botero, who makes all his subjects rather large! Then I visited a ´salt cathedral´which is found deep down in a salt mine for all the miners to use. It was really cool, although slightly creepy. Apparently you can get married down there, but I didn´t really fancy that idea!
Annoyingly, I´d been carrying a fleece around with me for 5 months through Central America, and when I wore it out the other night (for the 3rd time on the trip) I left it in a nightclub. We went back the next 2 nights to try and get it back but the club was closed! Very annoying as the weather will be getting a lot chillier in the next month or so. I´ll have to buy some sort of indigenous llama wool jumper and look like a bingley-bongley traveller!

CALI
Apparently this is where the most beautiful women in Colombia are found, but I didn´t see any evidence to support this! I did a really cool day trip to a little town called San Cipriano from Cali. To get to the village you have to go on a railway track, but there is no train! Instead they have platforms of wood on runners with a motorbike attached to the side! The front wheel is on the platform and the back is on the railway track to power it. There is a little bench for you to sit on. Very random indeed! If you meet anything coming the other way, you all have to get off while they lift the platform and bike off. Definitley the most bizarre transport I´ve been on during my trip!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



14th February 2008

sexy toes
I am so impressed with your neatly nail varnished toes... you are such a glam lady (even whilst travelling) - how do you find the time amongst paragliding and volcano-walking trips?! xxxxx
15th February 2008

Flying Fatties etc.
Looks too much like Deja Vu to me so not going there!! Just remind me not to stand next to you OK?!!!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb