Carnival!!!!!


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Barranquilla
February 4th 2008
Published: February 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Oooooooh! I was very excited when I learned that one of the best places to celebrate Carnival in Latin America (apart from Rio and Salvador, obviously!) was in Barranquilla in Columbia, woo hoo!
Barranquilla is a town that absolutely no tourists go to at any other time of the year because it is quite an ugly port city with not much to do. The only good thing about it is that it is where Shakira lives!!! I was very dissapointed not to see her!

However, over the 4 days of carnival Barranquilla comes alive with floats, parades and people generally partying in the streets! The first day of carnival was possibly one of the most fun days that I´ve ever had! There were so many people about and everyone is laughing, singing, wearing ridiculous clothes and hats and throwing water, flour and foam at you!

I spent carnival with a really good group of people- my small American travelling chum Jenna, Irish Joe, Londoner Ben, French Oliver and Mexican/American brothers Marco and Ivan. We met so many cool locals- in fact, in one little bar I made friends with some little kids and then their mum wanted to take
Shiny head!Shiny head!Shiny head!

Waaaaaaaaaaa! I still have my camera!
me home and adopt me!

The only negative of the carnival was that I had my camera stolen. It was my own stupid fault really- I should never have taken it out with me. I had the strap around my wrist with the camera in my hand and a big rowdy group came past, someone squirted foam in my face then pushed me into another group of people. A second later I still had the strap around my wrist but the camera had been cut off. At least I´d only lost my photos from that day, as I´d put in a new memory card that day. Boo, annoying, but could have been a lot worse.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Foam flying through the air!Foam flying through the air!
Foam flying through the air!

Irish Joe and Londoner Ben.
Our Carnival gang!Our Carnival gang!
Our Carnival gang!

top- Joe, Marco, Oliver, Ivan bottom- me, Jenna and Ben
My carnival mama!My carnival mama!
My carnival mama!

I made friends with her children and she wanted to adopt me and take me home!


26th February 2008

Hot columbian carnivals!
I thought that hot columbian carnival lady (the one waving and stood highest on the picture) WAS you! Looks a little like you me thinks..... you sure you didnt crash that carnival float!? xx

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb