Finally ill


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia
August 30th 2005
Published: August 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So for my entire holiday I seem to have avoided all tropical diseases: hepatitis, malaria, yellow fever and that common travelling illness I can only begin to spell (and end) - begins with d, ends with a, there are a number of other letters in between and you have to go to the loo a lot if you have it, you know. BUT, I have now come down with a cold, a common cold. I feel rotten, and want everyone to know about it. It´s putting me right back in the zone for London and work.

I´d be in bed but I don´t have one so I´m bugging you instead. I have to be at Bogota airport at 7-something tonight which gives me several hours to kill. Bought a pirated The Killers album which should ease the pain somewhat. Regretting my choice of a James Joyce out of the book exchange as I suspect it´s going to require a slight degree of concentration.

My night in Caracas is shaping up nicely. Not. I have spent large amounts of money and time on phoning Venezuela and failed to arrange a single ounce of acommodation. I arrive at 00.05 and know for a fact that the tourist info office closes at 00.00. We´re unkeen to get in an un-prearranged taxi at the airport, notorious as they are for containing knife-point style muggers("We" being me and the camera) so I´m facing the prospect of two nights sleeping in a chair. But maybe I´ll be lucky and the crash will happen sooner rather than later so I never actually make it to Caracas to deal with this.

Anyway, looking forward to getting back to London and opening all the presents you´ve all sent to Ealing following Mon´s excellent lead. Hope there´s some champagne and proper cheese in there. If so, I´ll be much less grumpy, and worth seeing again.


Advertisement



31st August 2005

Dubliners
Dubliners isn't bad- think I had to read some of them for gcse. Infintely preferable to Finnegan's Wake and Proust. Saw Hannah (Davidson, née Craig!)'s wedding photos last night at netball - very exciting. Everyone looking forward to seeing you - safe flight and hasta luego xx
31st August 2005

also tıme wastıng...
Well as you come to the end of your travels ım reachıng the mıd poınt, currently ın a small coastal town on the south coast of turkey called Fethıye. Sam and Dan have gone on a boat trıp today and as you know boat trıps dont usualy go that well for me so Ive decıded to have a relaxıng day restıng my foot, whıch I slıced open pretty badly jumpıng off rock ınto what looked lıke deep water, but wasnt. I also had my camera stolen, not sure ıf I told you ın my last emaıl, not lookıng too great for the ınsurance eıther, ıts a nıghtmare tryıng to get a polıce report out of turkısh polıce, theyre scared of sayıng anythıng has been stolen so then just wrıte I lost ıt at thıs tıme ın thıs place, have to waıt and see now ıf that wıll be good enough for ınsure-and-go. Anyway,despıte the foot and camera ım stıll havıng a great tıme although readıng your blog kında puts my trıp ınto perspectıve, ıs ıt ok to talk about anythıng other than your trıp on here?? Well you dıdnt reply to my last emaıl so tuff, thıs way ım more lıkely to get a response. Safe flıght etc Bro Rob, orb?
1st September 2005

When are you home? Want to arrange a big get together? London or Derby or Preston(tough choice!), look forwards to hearing more about your trip (I admit I have missed a few entries on this thing) See you soon, Ruthie xx
2nd September 2005

I'm still deciphering your email, bro. All the "i"s got changed to "#3ae"s. Are you getting a new camera or relying on borrowing your friends' photos? Such a dilemma as you really want to take your own pictures but you know that if you lost a second camera you'd be devastated. I'm going to tackle my insurance claim tomorrow. Can't wait. But now you're the only one doing exciting things as I'm just playing with Jack and Minnie and waiting for my new job to start (which is a bit exciting, I supposed). Jack thinks it hilarious that you are on holiday "inside a big Turkey". We all went to see the Lion King at the theatre last night. I'm with Jack on this one - it was "more than amazing".

Tot: 0.208s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0505s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb