Blogging off


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Richmond
September 11th 2005
Published: September 11th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So yes. I did come back. I was very tired, but then I was happy to see people. Plenty more for seeing yet, mind. Matters here are as they were, and I'm having no problems adjusting. I have not once said gracias by accident instead of thank you, though I did once mumble perdon now I think on it. I've been a working woman for a week. I now have a telephone number, praise the lord, which escapes me right now. I have not yet submitted my camera insurance claim, nor have I labelled all my CDs of photos (Just you wait, they're coming your way any time soon...). I'm still living out of a suitcase, plus lots of boxes which makes finding anything a lengthy process.

As some sort of sick joke, someone has put a copy of Paradise Lost on my bedside table here in Ealing. I am steadfastly ignoring it.

The blogging has never been a chore. I'll miss it. Almost the diary I never kept. Actually, I have sporadically kept diaries when younger and normally after I'd been given one for Christmas ("What shall we get for Don and Charlotte's children this year? Well, Robert likes only football in the world so maybe a football annual and Elizabeth is a bit bookish isn't she and always writes thank you letters so how about either some writing paper or maybe a diary. Maybe we should consider whether anyone else might be going to get them exactly the same thing, like all years in the past too? No no, I'm sure we'll be the only people to think of those presents. OK great, that's settled"). I've dipped in to those old volumes, and they make for spectucularly boring reading. Make no mistake:

"Had a bad piano lesson with Mr Proctor because I hadn't practiced. After, Dad took me and Lucy to see Little Women at the cinema. We had a really good conversation in the toilets about how Catherine had been flirting with William Jackson in PE. I scored 8 goals in skittleball."

Still reading? I'll try and spice it up a bit before I publish my memoirs:

"The heated affair with old Proctor continued unabated in my piano lesson tonight. Later, Lucy and I dressed up as (little) women and Dad dropped us off at Tokyo Jo's. We had a bust-up with Catherine over William Jackson, who was looking fit. I played my cards right and scored in the end."

Hmm. On rereading that, I think I have become a total loser. I might start going to Games Workshop of a Saturday.

My next travels are already planned for early October. A fleeting trip to Austria with my team at work, on the firm, to do skiing and rafting in a nice hotel for bonding purposes. A different style of travelling from that to which I've become accustomed, I feel. In case anything noteworthy happens while I'm there that you might like to read about, I'll keep an eye out for an internet cafe.

Advertisement



12th September 2005

Ahhh
Gonna miss your blogs! But I s'pose I get you back in return which isn't a bad consolation prize! Looking forward to hearing about your Fri and Sat nights...!xx
21st September 2005

really i have read all of your blogs. i owe you a big thank you as i plan travels to south america of my own. its been great reading and seeing all the experiences you had. i hope this isnt the last for you. maybe ill see you out there.-chris
27th September 2005

Heya - glad you are back - and sorry to take a while catching up with reading this - did you get the intermarche things? Actually - I was spurred to write by the message from crowbar - not heard from him for ages - will you send him my love - and excuse me for sidelining your blog in the process? love, Mon
28th September 2005

Dear Mon
I did get them, thank you very much. Put an extra note on the blog at the time to say so, but only small so easily missable. I'm scribbling away French-style. I've not heard from my brother in ages either! Must get in touch with the boy...

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb