Sal, si puedes.


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Taganga
February 25th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I took a few extra days in Taganga to complete my diver certification course. It was probably the best investment I've made in a long time. Besides the quiet and solitude diving allows, the aquatic life in this area is spectacular. I also made a couple of friends out of the experience. After completing the final exam, my dive instructors took me out for beers, and we spent the next two days drinking in the streets of Taganga... not that there aren't bars here, but most people just buy beer from kiosques and sit near the beach or on the street and listen to music. I slept in a hammock on the porch of one of my instructors, ocean breeze lightly rocking me all night in my adult-sized cradle. When I awoke I walked down the unpaved street, past the soccer field littered with trash and hungry dogs, and paid about 50 cents for a glass of fresh mango juice with milk and some fried eggs. I went down to the beach to eat my breakfast and watch children play in the surf. One of the locals was having breakfast as well, and we scooted closer to chat. I told him I didn't want to leave Taganga. People are so poor here, and so happy. Reluctantly, I admitted I would probably be moving on to Cartagena in the next few days. He smiled and said that before this city was called Taganga it had another name: "Sal, si puedes" ... "Leave, if you can." Tonight we're barbequeing. Tomorrow there's a live salsa band in Santa Marta.

Advertisement



25th February 2010

Leave if you can...
My new name for Omaha is Sal, si puedes... I am glad you got out, sounds sweet already!
26th February 2010

trip
i am following your travels intently and vicariously enjoying your experiences. am looking forward to seeing you so dont go too far away. love, grandaddy

Tot: 0.193s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0414s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb