Colombia!


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Taganga
June 25th 2008
Published: June 26th 2008
Edit Blog Post

There should be a Kids book.

My first Border Crossing.



Lord knows I needed a guide.

Well fellow folk, I have left Venezuela and made it to Colombia, though not without incident. I can see why the European Union was a good idea if for no other reason than to curb the rampant corruption and frustration at the border. Not to mention the currency. I am confused about that too...

I am happy to say that I was not picked on for anything because (as explained by the locals) ¨Soy Negro...¨ Gotta love reverse racism.

Bas wasn´t so lucky. He got put into a small room/cell twice and was forced to pay a small ¨entrance fee¨ of about $5 dollars. That sucked. And I (as a true friend) sat there and looked like I didn´t know him.

Because, Y´know, I´m Colombian and can´t be dealing with those Gringo Turistos.

I did feel bad though as Bas had pretty much funded my way across the border to keep me from having to pay another ATM fee and carry more Venezuelan Bolívares...which are pretty much useless 15 minutes from the Venezuelan Border. To you American Gringos, be glad that your Dollar is, as my British Friend Liam put it, ¨Bloody
Fisher KidsFisher KidsFisher Kids

At least one brought back lunch.
useful currency¨. Still I refrained from paying the border agents in Dollars. That just didn´t seem to be the intelligent course of action.

We ended up making it through with the help of a nice Colombiana named Solana. She told me to keep my mouth shut and say I was from Valencia if asked. She claimed Bas as her friend and tried to keep the Border agents looking the other way.

In the end, I´d come up with a story how I was a student from the States (where I live with my father), but my Mother´s family lives in Barranquilla and I was going to visit them and learn about my roots.

Lying to border control agents should be illegal.

Oh. Right. It is.

Anywho...

18 hours, three buses, one cab and a short walk later, I find myself on a Beach that would have been deserted if not for the hordes of Israeli travellers. It was still beautiful.

Taganga, Colombia




It was apparent crossing the border that Colombia was cleaner than Venezuela, but the lack of trash on the street in no way prepared me for the warmth of the people here. Everyone talks, chats and laughs. It´s a stark contrast from Venezuela where it was
Open Air ButcheryOpen Air ButcheryOpen Air Butchery

This Was a Restaurant. I ate here.
hard to start a conversation, or even get a ¨hola¨ nod in return.

So far I have been offered drugs (both green and white) by a Circus clown, gotten a 10 dollar beach massage and drunk (multiple) bottles of rum on the street corner till dawn with locals.

I think I am going to like it here.

Tomorrow I am going to get lost in the Jungle. Well hopefully not literally, but I am going to for trek (for 6 days!) to Ciudad Perdida aka the Lost City. I am gonna get my Indy Jones on!

Now where the hell in Taganga can I find a Bull whip and fedora?


Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Taganga




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

The View from my roomThe View from my room
The View from my room

To make some of you jealous...did I mention this room cost less than $10?
Druggie ClownDruggie Clown
Druggie Clown

This guy tried to get me to Buy/ sell and Take all sorts of stuff. I guess he thinks he looks trust worthy?
Pimp AuntPimp Aunt
Pimp Aunt

This is the Aunt from los Llanos who tried to get me to take her Pregnant Niece
Oso Hormiguero!Oso Hormiguero!
Oso Hormiguero!

I had NO idea anteaters were this big... This one tried to mount Bas


26th June 2008

I'm not hatin', really
You're making it hard to keep to my settled, suburban, two-kids-and-the-house life, brother man. Please, every day, say, "This one's for mo." Ok?
26th June 2008

My Home Away from Home
I LOVED Columbia.... The people are the best! The food is always GOOD. Ok now I'm really jealous. Enjoy! I loved it. Have fun, they do. Columbians believe in having a good time Todo el Tiempo!!!!
26th June 2008

Viva la vida
ohhh, I am sooo pumped you are in Colombia. Thanks for keeping me on the blog list. This takes ball. And uh hey the green stuff from the clown can't be that bad.
26th June 2008

I knew you could do it ... great post! Your lying to the border patrol was particularly amusing.
26th June 2008

OMG
You are soooooooooo cool....I'm proud to be your cousin! This seems like an awesome trip, I like $10 hotel rooms with a killer view, and you are so freekin' cool I know you're having a great time. Keep the stories coming, as they are funny as heck!
27th June 2008

Jealous...yep you hit the nail on the head
You are having just a tad bit too much fun. And jealousy is an understatement about the room you are in with that excellent view. That beats my Marriott discount. Thanks again for the B-day wishes. Hey what kind of animal is that... it was truly unrecognizable for me. Love you - be safe. And keep a look out for poor Bas.
27th June 2008

Love it!
Love the blog! I need to go somewhere...
28th June 2008

Enjoy the travels
Sounds like you're having a blast - I hope the camera is holding out. Cheers Jon
3rd July 2008

to Jon
The Camera is working great! It just made it back from the Colombian Jungle, so it must be tough!!!
4th July 2008

Druggie Clown!
Okay. Hilarious! Were you at a circus? Are those kids in a huddle behind him about it get high?
4th July 2008

to candice
Yeah, my buddy Bas had never been to a circus...so we decided this one. it was 75 cents and worth every penny. I don´t THINK the kids are going to get high... but who knows...
21st July 2008

Re: Incredible
Yo. This blog is great. It takes alot of albondigas to do what you are doing. Buena Suerte!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb