Ciudad Perdida


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Grenade launcherGrenade launcherGrenade launcher

They let me hold a grenade launcher. They REALLY must not know me...

Into the Jungle



Bas talked me into taking my first trek. Well actually, I talked myself into it, but I wanted someone to blame in case I didn´t like it, so I told him it was his fault.

We were joined by a reticent Englishman named Jack and a cheeky Belgian polyglot who mastered 7 languages seemingly simply to commandeer conversations in as many tongues as possible.

By the end of the trip I was simultaneously wishing she would either shut up or get eaten by a jaguar. I didn´t really care which.

The trip started out very easy, with a splash in a river swimming hole and a nice lunch. After that it was a FIFTEEN MILE HIKE straight up into the SUN (truestorysweartogod).

Ok.

Maybe it wasn´t THAT bad, but it was a rather steep climb with no shade. Add that to the fact I had somehow let myself get dehydrated, and it was a tad unpleasant.

Me and Bas was beefin´ right ´bout then.

As a respite, we got to stay in one of the tour guides houses who showed us a coca ¨factory´. In truth, it was a little tent with some coca leaves and waaaaaay to many chemicals to name. The guy showed us
Ciudad PerdidaCiudad PerdidaCiudad Perdida

The post card shot.
the process for making the cocaine base which included coca leaves, salt, calcium powder, gasoline and SULPHURIC ACID.

Yeah the stuff people use in movies to melt bodies and disfigure cheating spouses..

If I hadn´t already resolved not to take drugs, THAT woulda kept me off cocaine right there.

When smoked, it gives a heady rush that was described as indescribable, but then was described as somewhat similar to crack.

More reason to stay away.

The locals, by the way, don´t really touch this stuff. This is only for city folk and foreigners. The locals use the coca leave which is really not addictive (until it has been concentrated and chemicalized...)

The second day was uneventful as I was better hydrated and the trek was shorter. In fact, I even noticed how gorgeous the Colombian countryside is. I was happy with Bas again.

Day three was fun as we had to cross 8 rivers.

Actually it was one river 8 times, but that just sounds so counterproductive that I want to believe that it is 8 different rivers.

Yay self delusion!

Ciudad Perdida



The Lost City.

Unreachable except by a 3 day walk and 19 Million stairs.

Mosquitos the size of small dogs.

Ok, the last one is an exaggeration...the mosquitos are the regular size...there are just a damn lot of them.

The city now known as Ciudad Perdida or Teyuna to the natives, was founded around 800 A.D. making it at least 650 years older than Machu Picchu. As usual, the locals never really lost the place as the local indigenous tribes claim that they visited the site often. It wasn´t ¨discovered¨ until 1972 when graverobbing looters stumbled upon it. The ensuing fight for the baubles left the original discoverers dead and had the military and scientists move in to protect and research it. The 169 terraces are believed to have house some 2,000 to 8,000 people. While these people were decimated by the disease and wars of the Spanish Conquistadores, the Spaniards never found this place. And so the City had been lost for centuries...

Actually, I don´t think the city was ¨lost¨...I think the remaining Tayrona just got sick of climbing the stairs.

There were 1200 stairs to get to the first terrace. I didn´t count the multitude after that. We got a great tour and were able to speak and trade knicknacks with the soldiers.

On the walk back to civilization we got a taste of why this place is named a RAINforest. It poured on us for about 5 hours straight.

I found it refreshing.

The Belgian got mad and started cursing the skys.

I kinda found that refreshing too...


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

the best bathroom on the trekthe best bathroom on the trek
the best bathroom on the trek

and that ain´t saying much...
cute kidscute kids
cute kids

the kids of my first guide.
EduardoEduardo
Eduardo

My new pen pal from Barranquilla
The best guide!The best guide!
The best guide!

If you do the trek, ask for Gabriel of Magic tours. He´s great.
Monolingual Kogi kidMonolingual Kogi kid
Monolingual Kogi kid

This kid spoke no spanish. He simply nodded...no matter what the question.
La Ciudad!La Ciudad!
La Ciudad!

These are the main terraces. Supposedly they were used for religious/civic ceremonies.
Mortar and pestelMortar and pestel
Mortar and pestel

for food prep
Manuel!Manuel!
Manuel!

This guide was one of those kidnapped in 2003. They tied him up and left him, but he escaped
It´s just fungus...It´s just fungus...
It´s just fungus...

but I thought it was pretty...
CocaCoca
Coca

Here is all you need to make coca base


3rd July 2008

So beautiful!
I enjoyed equally your storytelling and photographs. Thank you for sharing of the "Lost City." (Not to neglect "Cocaine 101," I had no idea about the sulfuric acid). ps Tu ropa de expedición es muy atrayente.
4th July 2008

Wow!
1. Those people are crazy for letting you hold that gun! 2. Your description of the coca factory is excellent. Because of you, I will never think of trying cocaine again.
4th July 2008

to candice
yeah. Coke is off the menu permanently.
5th July 2008

great blog soft toutch!!!love to read about our travels!!!VIVA LOCOMBIA....(hope your not mad anymore)
5th July 2008

to Bas
Nah not at all...I am having a great time...I wasnt even alittle mad after the first day ;) nb
7th July 2008

to Bas
In response to a question about the apellation ´soft touch´apparently that is what my name means in Hebrew. I spent the entire time in Ciudad perdida being called ¨soft touch¨by two Israelis...
8th July 2008

Grenade Launcher
Disassemble Smuggle Reassemble Give to Bandit yaaaaaaaaaay! You look good. Like you're taking care of yourself. Keep it up. We miss you but are happy for you!
8th July 2008

to bandit
After i said that the grenade launcher was my favorite shot from South America so far, i was told that my American was showing... too bad.
8th July 2008

Muy Bonitas Photos
Very Cool pictures of the landscape! The Coca factory was hummm...was educational. Thank you for the quick lesson. Until next time...Adios. PS Keep writting, such a treat to hear all about your adventures.
10th July 2008

La Cuidad
I'm getting married in La Cuidad on the post card shot...SERIOUSLY

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 60; dbt: 0.1137s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb