"Los Sueños de Elina": How to write a novel.


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Norte de Santander
August 14th 2015
Published: August 15th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Como escribir una novela: Los sueños de Elina.

How to Write a novel: Elina´s Dreams.



En las siguientes líneas, les cuento como surgió la idea de la novela que estoy finalizando, In the following lines, I will tell you how the idea of writing a book, which I am finishing, came up.



It had never occurred to me to write a novel; in the past, I had only submitted works concerning the pedagogy of language teaching -on which I won a national writing competition- and the adventures of my travels in this travelblog; but I owe the idea of sitting down and write to a national short story contest, some years ago; this was a proposal I received, as an excellent opportunity to jot down some ideas, in order to write a three-page story. After some reading background, some intercultural travel, a lifetime of good memories and experiences, where many hours were devoted to watching films and television, I got carried away by a dramatic instinct and decided to join those storytellers who, capturing the scope of their imagination, help us transform our lives.





Nunca se me había ocurrido escribir una novela, sólo había hecho escritos relacionados con la pedagogía de la enseñanza de lenguas -en el cual, gané una convocatoria nacional- y bueno, este travelblog, que me ha dado la oportunidad de compartir con tantas personas, las andanzas de mis viajes; pero la idea de sentarme a escribir, se la debo al anuncio de un concurso nacional de cuento, proposición que recibí, como una excelente oportunidad, para sentarme y anotar algunas ideas, con miras a finalizar un cuento de tres paginas. Con un gran bagage de lecturas, muchos viajes interculturales, una vida llena de buenos recuerdos y vivencias, en los que muchas horas de televisión y cine, dejaron grandes historias en mi memoria, me dejé llevar por ese instinto dramático y me quise unir a esos cuenteros que, con sus relatos, plasman los alcances de su imaginación, y nos ayudan a transformar nuestras vidas.



And in less than one day, I had already written 2,000 words, which, I think, exceeded the requirements of the competition. However, after some thinking, and having found a beginning and an end to the story, I decided to keep it for myself. I had missed the opportunity to enter the competition and have the story published in a book, along with other aspiring writers, which was tempting, at that time. Instead, I read it to my family and some friends, and concluded that I would rather increase the number of lines, make up more characters and finish the tale... I am happy I made that decision.



Y fue así, como en menos de un día, ya había escrito 2000 palabras, que creo, superaban los requisitos del escrito. Sin embargo, luego de varias reflexiones, y de encontrarle principio y fin al cuento, decidí quedarme con el producto y perderme la oportunidad de participar por el premio de aparecer en un libro, junto a otros aspirantes a escritores, lo cual había sido tentador, en un principio. En vez de eso, se lo di a leer, a algunos miembros de mi familia y algunas amigas, y concluimos que había madera, para aumentar los contenidos de una historia, que quería por sí misma, madurar, para poder ser contada. Y hoy, que ya ha crecido para ser novela, estoy felíz, de haber tomado esa decisión.



And then, as many writers, who shape their ideas and take some of their personality traits to implant them into their fictional characters, I have been able to move the story along. Some of their names have been changed, as the personality traits of the characters have evolved; they have also fallen in and out of love. Thus, Aura has become Bernarda, then Monserrate. Eliecer has ceased to exist and Ezequiel was born, becoming a character, whose own ways I leave to you to judge. All these choices make the story, a permanent transformation, just like ours, and it all takes place in my beautiful Salazar de las Palmas, our cradle of coffee as well as in Cúcuta and Pamplona, both located in Norte de Santander, in my native Colombia.



Y ya luego, lo que sigue es, lo que le sucede a muchos escritores, que empiezan a darle forma a sus ideas, tomando rasgos de su personalidad, para implantarlos en sus personajes de ficción, y poder hacer que la historia pueda continuar. Así he propuesto nombres, que han sido cambiados, buscando una mejor correspondencia de sus rasgos de personalidad, porque estos personajes han evolucionado durante la historia, y como cualquier persona, se han enamorado y desenamorado. Así, una Aura, se ha vuelto Bernarda, y luego Monserrate; un Eliécer ha desaparecido del mapa y se ha creado un Ezequiel, cuyas maneras se las dejo a ustedes para que juzguen. Todas estas decisiones hacen del relato, una transformación permanente, igual al que nosotros experimentamos en nuestras vidas. Todo sucede en mi bello Salazar de las Palmas, nuestra cuna del café, así como en Cúcuta y Pamplona, ciudades ubicadas en el Norte de Santander, de mi natal Colombia.



Elina, whose name I borrowed from my adored mother, is a girl who continuously fights for success, in spite of the practical limitations she faced, which are mainly economic, academic as well as her simple life and humble beginnings. However, not losing hope, she continues dreaming -exactly what we should do- so as to achieve her goals to make the impossible possible, trascend her geographical limitations and pursue happiness.



Elina, cuyo nombre tomé prestado de mi adorada madre, es una chica que lucha por triunfar, frente a tantas limitaciones: económicas, académicas y su origen humilde y pueblerino. Sin embargo, no perdiendo la esperanza, ella continúa soñando -así como deberíamos hacer todos- para lograr sus objetivos, haciendo lo imposible posible, trascendiendo sus limitaciones geográficas y buscando la felicidad.



I do not have a specific time to write, as I see that writing flows better when one feels the need to sit and jot ideas down; from experience, I find that inspiration comes on its own when you less look for it, be it, with the silence of dawn, or during the long wait from the dusk of the day… or just with the background noises of the TV set or some jazz music and one, two and…several cups of coffee, that´s for sure; pretty soon, those shots of adrenaline allow you to set up a nonstop writing environment.



No tengo un horario específico para escribir, simplemente, cuando siento la necesidad de hacerlo, veo que las cosas fluyen mejor; por experiencia, me parece que la inspiración, en vez de buscarla, llega para quedarse, cuando las teclas del computador se presionan solas, ayudándonos a continuar los relatos iniciados. Muchas veces, madrugando con el alba, con el silencio del amanecer, o esperando a sentir el silencio de la noche… o simplemente, con el ruido de la tele o un buen jazz y uno, dos y… varios cafés suaves, se consiguen esos golpes de adrenalina, que nos hacen pasar horas, escribiendo sin parar.



Then the process of publishing will come, as I intend to engage readers from near and remote areas, because I do hope to translate it into English and French. Call me optimistic, and… I am; Elina –both my mum and the character, have taught me so, isn´t this how we all shall be, in this fleeting life, as Juanes´s song goes? but I do believe that the story has an international flair; apart from showcasing my beautiful Colombia, readers, in any hemisphere, might see themselves identified with the characters of the book. Anyway, I´ll take things as they come, and will start searching an editor when I finish the book, in the hope to present a decent edition of the book.



Luego, vendrá el proceso de publicación para darla a conocer a los queridos lectores de zonas cercanas y remotas, pues la pienso traducir en inglés y talvez en francés. Llámenme optimista, pues si, lo soy, Elina, -tanto mi madre como el personaje- me han enseñado a hacerlo, pues considero que debemos creer en nosotros mismos, para que, como dijo Juanes, vivamos mejor este ratico de vida! Considero que tiene un toque internacional que, aparte de hacer conocer un poco más, a mi bella Colombia, los ávidos lectores se pueden identificar con algunos de los personajes, pues sus ocurrencias pueden tener lugar, en cualquier parte del hemisferio. Pero bueno, lo más indicado, en estos casos, es preocuparse por cada cosa en su momento, así que por ahora, estoy terminándola y ya luego, vendrá la corrección, para poder presentar una edición decente del libro.



I just hope that once you can hold the novel in your hands, I can contribute, somehow wisely to your leisure time activities; Just as I have identified myself with some characters I have found in many different novels I have read, I hope that you can find in Los Sueños de Elina, interesting situations -experienced or not- and that you can feel those different emotions somehow. Reading is so powerful that sometimes, fiction can take us away from reality; personally, when writing the fate of some characters, I have met with mixed feelings, living almost their difficulties in my own flesh, and it might happen to you too… See you at the book launch then!



Sólo espero que, una vez publicado y ustedes lo tengan en sus manos, como autor, pueda aportar algo a sus vidas, porque así como –personalmente- me he identificado con muchos personajes de historias leídas, de igual manera, espero que ustedes logren encontrar en cada personaje de Los Sueños de Elina, situaciones interesantes, vividas o no, que los hagan entrar en su piel y sentir diferentes emociones. Es que la lectura tiene tanto poder que, a veces, la ficción puede embolatarnos la realidad; personalmente, escribiendo los destinos de algunos personajes, he tenido sentimientos encontrados, viviendo casi en carne propia, las dificultades experimentadas por ellos, y espero que a ustedes también les pase… Nos vemos en el lanzamiento!


Additional photos below
Photos: 45, Displayed: 28


Advertisement



15th August 2015
Teatro Guzman Verti, Cúcuta

Good luck!
What a great idea to share the lives of your Colombian companeros with the world. Best wishes with your book--I know that writing and rewriting is a lot of work-- and I love these old photos!
15th August 2015
Teatro Guzman Verti, Cúcuta

Good luck!
Thanks, Tara, yeah, it is exactly that, I will be sharing the life of people in my hometown in the 50s and 60s, I hope you like it. Hugs!
16th August 2015

Well done!
I loved reading this Frank - I wanted more! Good luck with it, looking forward to hearing how it all comes together.
16th August 2015

Well done!
Thanks, Ren Andrew. I am so excited with your comment, yes, you will soon learn more about Elina, cheers!
18th August 2015

Felicitaciones!
Su madre es muy linda. Lo siento, pero mi espanol es terrible. I traveled to Colombia in 2011 and loved it. I only got to visit Bogota and Cartegena. I write under the blog name 'gunga'. There are several blogs about my visit to Colombia. I hope to visit again. It is amazing that you wrote and finished a novel. That is a BIG achievement. I hope it is a success. I will look forward to the English translation. I love the old photos. Carolyn Taylor ( gunga)
18th August 2015

Felicitaciones!
Querida Carolyn, gracias. Su español es muy bueno, con un poquito de salsa, lo mejoras ;) I am so glad that you have visited my country, I´ll find your blogs in a moment. Yeah, let´s hope so, that´s one of the things that I have to thank Travelblog: it kept me writing and later, I got inspired to write a novel, it might happen to you too. I loved your comment.
21st August 2015

Excelente !!
Sé que es una excelente historia, estoy muy ansioso para leerla y por supuesto va a ser un éxito. Felicitaciones !!!
21st August 2015

Excelente !!
Gracias, Andrés, esperemos que así sea y la audiencia lo reciba muy bien, pues ahí hay esfuerzo puesto para lograrlo.

Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 13; qc: 30; dbt: 0.1132s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb