El Padrone - Medellin, Colombia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
March 6th 2016
Published: March 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Depending on your politics Medellin, Colombia is either famous or infamous for its most notorious drug lord Pablo Escobar. Escobar was the ruthless leader of one of the most powerful drug organizations of all time - The Medellin Cartel. Today I was to embark upon a tour of his life, properties, and the history of the man who most people associate Colombia with. Fortunately the way people perceive Colombia is changing and I believe it is tours like this one that is helping achieve this goal. I had great reservation of this tour fearing it would be some kind of folklore glorification of a man who was responsible for countless murders and bombings throughout this beautiful country.

Escobar was loved by the poor and rued by the middle class and government. The poor loved him because he reinvested his wealth to build schools and sports facilities in their neighborhoods, but this came at a great cost involving murder, corruption and terror throughout Colombia and Medellin. On the tour we went to several of the compounds and buildings that Escobar had built in Medellin to rule his empire. Most of these buildings were destroyed by car bombs courtesy of the Cali Cartel. We also visited his hideout where he was eventually shot (some would say murdered) by the Colombian security forces. I won't go into detail about the tour or Escobar's life. There is plenty of material out there. I will say that the tour was very informative and discussed in detail the social consequences of the USA's and the World's appetite for illicit drugs. I'm not preaching by any means as who am I to judge? But witnessing the sites first hand and hearing in detail some of the events of the late 80's and early 90's here in Colombia from someone who had lived through the carnage was very interesting indeed. History is currently repeating itself on the US/Mexico border.

Some people believe the CIA and Colombian Government staged Pablo's death and sent him into exile with immunity from prosecution in exchange for vast amounts of money. Nonsense.

The rooftop where Pablo was shot dead. In the background you can see the window from where he jumped has been sealed up.

A few side notes, I've decided to fly direct to Capurgana instead of the night bus to Turbo then the speed boat. In all of my research I always was cautious of this particular leg of the journey and when Juan told me it could be a problem with the FARC and Paramilitaries on the highways, which is where most all of the problems for foreigners take place, I made my decision. I had a really bad feeling so I booked the plane. Gut instinct I guess. Capurgana and Sapzurro still have a heavy Paramilitary presence but once you are there, for tourists, as long as you mind your own business it should be fine. The Colombian Government and FARC have a lot to lose if their were to be an American tourist kidnapped in this region. Wish me luck! The difference in fares was $120. So instead of the 8 hour bus and 2 hour boat ride it is a 1 hour direct flight. I suppose this is of good value. Only bad thing is the flight is not until Friday. I guess there are worse spots then Medellin to be stuck for a few days. I've also developed somewhat of a sinus infection/cold. I hope it does not evolve into something worse.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb