Problemas de Orden Publica - Medellin, Colombia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Medellin
March 9th 2016
Published: March 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Roughly translated the note on my pillow at my hostel last night read "flight cancellation due to problems of public order". Apparently when I was out yesterday the airline had called my hostel to inform me that my flight to Capurgana was no longer. By the time I got back and read the note the ADA-Aero office had closed. So up bright and early today to call and see what is going on I was told that all flights to Capurgana have been canceled due to a bombing and security threats compliments of the Paramilitaries and Guerrillas in the area. Nice. The sweet lady on the phone did ask if I wanted to reschedule for Tuesday...uh no thanks.

It has been one bad omen after another trying to get to this area of the country. I get the hint. I'm out. I had to argue with the airline to refund my money and they eventually caved and agreed. So I've essentially been bumming around Medellin all week for a flight that was never going to be. No way was I going to stick around longer. I've now booked a ticket today with a different airline for a direct flight to Cartagena. Not much going on here as I've seen all the sights and one (well me) can only go out to the night scene here so much. I was able to go to a nature preserve on top of the mountain for a nice hike yesterday. It was good to go out of the city. Later this afternoon I'll be in Cartagena and I cannot wait. Medellin has been nice, but I've been dying to move on.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0191s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb