Observations


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Los Llanos
May 13th 2014
Published: May 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I've been here a little over two weeks now and I've made a few observations that I'd like to share...



1. When I left the US, my watch was 3 minutes behind. Here, however, according to some sources, it's right on time, others it's a few minutes behind, and others it's actually ahead. This adds to my suspicion that time as a concept is just not as important here, which is why my husband, and many of his latino friends and compatriots are chronically late. When they say to meet at 8, really they mean somewhere between 8:45 and 9:15. Needless to say, I don't worry about being late here

2. Netflix here is freaking awesome. They have so many more movies and TV shows available here, it's actually really frustrating. I mean, they even have "Friends." They still have "24" they have new movies, good movies, movies that I've been wanting to see for a long time... You go Netflix in Colombia!

3. Because the climate doesn't really change that much here from season to season, 70 degrees is considered cold. I wish 70 degrees was the coldest it got in any city I've ever been to in the US.

4. There is a lot of eating going on here. It is typical to eat a big breakfast, then a snack, then a big lunch, take a nap, go back to work, eat a snack, go home, eat dinner and then later have a snack with some hot chocolate or coffee. Not an exaggeration.

5. People here are unbelievably open about everything. As I've said, I've been here for - maximum - 3 weeks and I know more personal details about the people I've met here than some of the people I've known my whole life in the US. Without even asking, I've learned whole life stories, even the details that you generally don't share, I've heard them all.

These are the only ones that I can think of now, but I'm sure more will come to me.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb