La noche de los mejores


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Los Llanos
May 9th 2014
Published: May 13th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Joropo dancersJoropo dancersJoropo dancers

These little kids started the show off dancing to traditional "llanero" music in a style called joropo.
Friday night was "la noche de los mejores!" for our clinic. Basically it was an awards ceremony/gigantic party with all the "veteran" workers. I was invited because I'm American, sometimes, being from the US has it's perks!



Anyway, one thing I really love about this country is how good they are at celebrating things. I think this country has more holidays than any other - At least one paid holiday every month, and sometimes more than 3 in a month! I've been to some work parties, and this one takes the cake. It was in a hotel ballroom, it had live dancers, a live band, a huge dance floor, a buffet with real food (not fried food), two desserts, raffles and free drinks. Everyone dressed up fancy, but danced salsa and reggaeton like they were in a regular discoteca. In short, it was awesome.



We laughed a lot, we danced a lot and we had a lot of fun.



I'll tell the rest in pictures


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

JoropoJoropo
Joropo

Then, a whole series of cute little kids who are way better dancers than me came out and danced too
live bandlive band
live band

they played salsa, merengue, cumbia - really good - if only I knew how to dance!!!
world cupworld cup
world cup

the theme was based around the world cup, every department had a country, ours, the ICU was Brazil
flamenco dancersflamenco dancers
flamenco dancers

I think the floor nurses were Spain, they presented a flamenco dance. Literally, those are nurses and staff members of the hospital. I don't think you could find that many people to do a dance at a work party in the US.
Typical Colombian rumTypical Colombian rum
Typical Colombian rum

complimentary at every table
A bottle for the four people at our tableA bottle for the four people at our table
A bottle for the four people at our table

And we didn't even drink it...
Other dancersOther dancers
Other dancers

I'm not really sure what you would call this style, it was kind of a bunch of things mixed together. I have a video, but it won't let me upload it...
Samba dancersSamba dancers
Samba dancers

These guys made me feel really bad about my dancing abilities. Also, they came out at like 2 AM. FYI, the party didn't even end at 4AM, it was still going strong...Colombia knows how to do it...


Tot: 0.146s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.1123s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb