Feelin' it Again - Cartagena, Colombia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Cartagena
March 10th 2016
Published: March 30th 2016
Edit Blog Post

After my disappointment in not being able to go to Capurgana and Sapzurro (I'm still bitter, stupid FARC get over yourself and assimilate already, no one cares) I needed to get out of Medellin ASAP. I was over the party scene and the City in general. I was feeling burnt. So rather than take the 18 hour bus ride to save $100 I booked the next flight to Cartagena via Avianca Airlines at a cost of $150. I'm a terrible backpacker. Once I got here I knew it was going to be a special place and I could feel my travel battery recharging instantly.

I arrived into Cartagena with little to no plan other than my pre booked accommodation at Casa Nativa. Once out of the airport I was able to negotiate a cab with a Belgian couple for $5,000 pesos each ($3) to drop us at the city center. This was of good value as alone the cab would have been $8,000 pesos or about $5. Once out of the cab I tried to recall the Google Map I viewed earlier to orientate myself as to where my hostal could be. I was able to navigate myself - bags and all - through the crowded, narrow, and snakelike streets to within one block of my hostal before I had to ask a local as to where the street was located that my accommodation was on. I was quite pleased with my success, skill, and sense of direction.

Once settled into my room I met Amis from Holland and Mitzy the owner of the hostal. Mitzy is a firecracker of a Colombiano who likes to have a good time. Togther with Felipe, who is in town from Medellin, we formed a group and headed out for dinner and a night out on the town. We ended up at Cafe Havana in the Getsameni neighborhood of Cartagena. This place was awesome. It featured live traditional salsa music and we all had a blast dancing the night away. I had a great time and it was one of the best nights to date. Unfortunately I forgot my camera but Felipe has promised he will email some photos to me.

Today I slept in and then headed out for a bit of sightseeing. Cartagena was founded in 1533 as a major trade route hub and exit port for Spanish ships loaded with gold. The old colonial walled fort where I am staying was listed as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1984. The architecture of the city is beautiful and its people and vibe are distinctly Caribbean. I am really happy here. It helps to be next to the ocean. The weather is hot (90degrees) and humid but I do not mind. Flip flops and swimsuit from here on out. Well I'm off to watch the sunset over the fort and into the Caribbean Sea.

It's hard to remember you're in a big city when staying in the old part of town.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.026s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb