Red Alert!!! - Cartagena, Colombia


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Cartagena
March 11th 2016
Published: March 31st 2016
Edit Blog Post

A real quick post talking about my exciting episode amidst an otherwise tranquil day. On this lazy Sunday afternoon I was invited over to Mitzy's apartment for a day of fun in the sun at the pool and beach. Mitzy lives in this amazing apartment building on the 31st floor with incredible 360 degree views of the city and the Caribbean Sea. Along with Amis the three of us enjoyed a really good home cooked lunch and some glorious sunshine on the beach. Once I returned home to the hostal is where my day took quite the exciting turn.

Mitzy's house. All the way at the top 31st floor.

At the conclusion of my very relaxing day at the beach I took to my evening ritual of having a cold Aguila on the front steps of my hostal overlooking the street. About 10 minutes in a very dodgy looking fellow came my way and invited himself to a seat next to me. My radar immediately went through the roof. This gentleman was certainly on drugs and had a very menacing look about him. He proceeded to ask me for a dollar to which I politely declined. Right about then I saw something flash in his hand as he put it behind his back and lunged forward. My senses began to become very keen and time slowed as I sprung out of the way and into the street. Now a police officer had seen what was going on and the sketchy dude jumped up, dropped what he had, and went to the officer and they had some type of discussion. On the ground fell what I had suspected all along. A very large shank made from a very dangerous shard of glass to which I shouted and pointed out to the officer. Once the criminal heard this he took off running. I thought about tackling him, but the voice in my head said no. Why the cop did not chase him I do not know. The officer made sure I was OK, took the weapon and radioed his superiors and I assume they are on the look out for this guy now.

Now this can happen no matter where you are in the world. It happens in the States everyday. It is just a reminder to be vigilant always. I won't let this little episode ruin my otherwise strong affinity for travel or this country called Colombia. I never really felt in any danger as my senses and internal red alert have never and did not let me down. I'm once again pleased with my streetwise and reaction. No worries.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 29; qc: 111; dbt: 0.1015s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb