Bogota, can you feel the rhythm?


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
September 9th 2011
Published: September 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hola chicos!
I safely made it to Bogota on Saturday (while on the same day 2 people got shot outside the airport) and experienced a temperature drop from 36 degrees to 18!! Woooow!
I chose a hostel near my school here and its actually nice (me not being a "hostel-person"). We are only three people living here ( a English guy, a Columbian and me) so I get the womens bathroom all to myself, yes!
On sunday I went to the city center and the Gold Museum which was huge and really well organized, everything was explained in English too! (I mean.. not that I need that.. Im nearly fluent in Spanish now *cough*)
The school is just a 10 minute walk from my hostel and a lot different from Cartagena; Much more organizes and structured, I like it! We are just 2 people in class which really makes me profit. To add to this, we are only 2 Swiss people in the whole school ( in Cartagena about 85% were German-Speakers)! Korean, English, Australian, Brazilian, French etc.. On Tuesday I managed to get lost for the second time while walking to school (who does that?!), but only a little bit and thanks to my desorientedness I found a Swiss Restaurant owned by a guy from Bern :-) Will eat Fondue there next week! In the afternoon we went to the mountain Montserrate with the Gondola to get a good look at the city. Amazing that the city has the same amount of habitants as Switzerland!
On Tuesday evening was "Gringo Night" and we went to a Club in the Zona Rosa. We meet a lot of Columbian people and now Im invited to 2 different fincas during the weekend, choices, choices :-) But also friends from Cartagena are coming to visit so Ill have to see what I do.
Today I attended Salsa&Merengue class, which was absolutely hilarious.. We were 6 people dancing and I must say that the Korean and French guys tried their best but had absolutely no rhythm. I not a big dancer either but the teacher decided I had better rhythm than the guys so I ended up having to dance the "Guy Part" and was swirling the poor Koreans over the dance floor :-) Haha..
So tomorrow I just have school and will then be expecting my friends in the afternoon, who will be coming back from the Amazonas and Kayman-Catching, should be interesting!
Love
Anna

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1004.9kb