Diving at Rosario Islands


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Cartagena
August 29th 2011
Published: August 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Buenas!
So this weeken I spent at the Rosario Islands (about 1h by boat from Cartagena). The plan was to become a certified open water diver, in reality though I had a cold and cough and didnt really feel comfortable to dive as much (my diving book said it was dangerous to dive with a cold!). But because I could equalize I decided that I could at least try the confined ater dives (which means you only descend to about 2 meter }s and do different exercises under water). So my diving teacher Fernando said that there are two important things you have to think about during the dive: !. Always keep breathing and 2 Stay calm. So waht did I do as soon as I had decended about 50 centimeters under water? I decided to stop breathing and panik instead :-) I must have had the worlds most patient diving teacher though. The poor thing had to hold my hn}and through 4 dives (2 practice dives and 2 "real" dives) and didnt get annoyed (or show it) once!! We dove (past tense of to dive ?!) to a really neat sunken boat and corals and saw tons of fish (including stinging jelly fish, ouch!!) and more. Its such a strange, akward and exciting feeling to be under water and be able to breathe! I have to learn to relax more and be more confident that I could handle an emergeny under water, ecause I definitley want to do it again! One girl ran out of air really deep under water and had to breathe from another persons tank until we reached the surface.. But she was so relaxed and cool about it and handled the situation perfectly, I really admired that.
So this is my last week in Cartagena and then Im of to Bogota, which I m really looking forward to! I will live in a hostel the first few days and the }n I might live in the appartement of a girl I met diving (the one without air :-))
Hugs and Kisses
Anna

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0423s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb