First stop Bogota


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
June 15th 2011
Published: June 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

"Open your heart, open your mind
A train is leaving all day
A wonderful trip through our time
And laughter is all U pay" Prince, Around the World in a Day, 1985


So here it is my first blog entry. I actually wanted to start this before I left but I am a big time procrastinator.
So when you leave on a 14 month trip your last meal is important. I went with a couple of friends to Carnevino, one of the best, if not the best steakhouse in Vegas. It is a Mario Batali restaurant and known for its dry aged steaks. I'm not talking 30 days dry aged, but up to 90 days of dry aging. The best steak that I ever had was the dry aged bone-in ribeye from there. It is only served for 2 and is $72 per person but well worth it. Of course I'm not a baller like that on my last day at home so I just had The Burger with pancetta and onion gorgonzola. It was a top 5 burger for sure, a wonderful note to leave Vegas on.

So here I am in Bogota the start of my journey. 14 months on the road. I'm not totally sure where I will go and when I will get there. When I travel I don't like to have a set agenda, be here on this day, here for 2 days, and here for 3 days. What if you like a place and want to stay a little longer? I do know I have to be back to work on Aug 3rd 2012.

I do want to go to Carnival in Brazil. Maybe Salvador or Rio. That would be Feb 17th-21st 2012. And floating down the Amazon River sounds like an adventure.

Right now the next stop after Bogota may be Salento then Medellin, then on to the Caribbean coast, and then Venezuela. But that is the best part of staying in hostels. You can meet some people and where they are going may sound more exciting that what you have planned. So I keeps my options open.

Hopefully I can keep everyone up to date. I am not the best writer, but I hope to keep everyone informed and slightly entertained.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0927s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb