First impressions of Bogota


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
September 19th 2009
Published: September 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

All of you that think dangerous, FARC guerilla, cokaine, bribes and hidden guns behind the closed doors when you hear Colombia - think again. Surely that exist here too, as in so many other places, but during the less than a week that I have spent in Bogota, I have seen and experienced so much more. I don't know where to start; the nice people, the lovely city center of Bogota, the Gold Museum, the splendid viewpoint, the salsa dancing or the food.

So let's start from the beginning. I left France last Tuesday, but almost did not leave it. I got caught in the traffic jam in Paris and almost did not make it to the flight. You can imagine my thoughts when sitting in the car with Pierre's labtop in my knee, trying to find an alternative route, only to realise that all freaking roads in Paris are read!!! (hmm, I wonder what a single trip Paris-Bogota costs when you buy it one day in advance...).
But I finally made it with ten minutes of margin to the check-in, and through the security control and then ran right into the plane. Puh, lucky me.
After the long flight, luckily sitting next to a very nice young Colombian girl who did not speak English (lucky me, start practising right aaway...), in Bogota Cata's papa came and picked me up and dropped my off at Cata's mama. What a luxury service!!!

Since I came I have had the time to explore the city centre with Cata's friends and to take a tour to the lovely viewpoint called Monserrate. Apparently the white church on top, that can be viewed from everywhere in Bogota, is a pilgrime site and the very dedicated pilgrims do the 1500 step walk up on the mountain on their knees! Aouch!
I also saw the old, charming part Calendaria with its small streets, brightly colored houses, street vendors, kids in school uniforms, the evident Plaza Simon Bolivar (man omnipresent in all Latin American countries, I think) and all of the various security guards.
A thing not to miss was of course the Museo Botero where Colombia's most famous artist is exhibited with paintings showing everything from women to fruits to guerilla leaders painted in a fat format. Hahaha!
I have also had the opportunity to meet one of Colombias famous authors. Funny man, he was sitting in front of me in the airplane and when I had lunch at the same place as he did the other day, he came up to me to say hello and to wish me welcome to his country. Isn't that nice, and typically Latino?

Of course I could not miss out on the dancing and I went to a live concert of... Salsa, the dance that every Colombian born person seem to have in their genes. I got my first introduction in a chic club called Alma, according to the guide book a place where only special persons are let in ;o) I did get several comments "not bad for a foreigner" but I am not sure if that was just to cover the emarrassement of my dance partners when I stepped on their feets or bumped my knees into theirs... But practise makes perfect, right?!?!

Another nice spot I have had the chance to visit is Parque Simon Bolicar (him again) and the Jardin Botanico, a sunny day having lunch lying on the grass. I was really lucky with the weather. Actually, you could think that the weather is always nice here, being so close to the equator, but since Bogota is on an altitude of more than 2500m, it gets chilly and actually cold in the night.

I also looove the charming little village, inside of Bogota, called Usaquen, that used to be a village outside of Bogota, but when the city grew very rapidly during some years suddenly was inside it. It has a great mixture of old buildings, neat bars and a laid back, artistic atmosphere. Almost like a "le marais" in Bogota!

Then let's talk about Food. I have had really good food here and you can really get any food you want, from Colombian to Japanese. And the Colombians seem to be very proud of their food and the quality of food you can get here.
One thing that I am so excited about are the fruits! I have rediscovered pitaya and I had forgotten how good and sweet it is!!!
I have also been forced to try the local alcohol, Aguardiente. Beurk. Really really strong...

Thank you all of the people who have taken me to tourist in Bogota, housed me, driven me, explained etc. I know many of you think that I am "loca"... but when taking public transports, travelling alone and go outside of your comfort zone, you really see and experience more... :o)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb