La Reinita


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Bogota
December 19th 2006
Published: December 20th 2006
Edit Blog Post

JugeteriaJugeteriaJugeteria

a disco place full of dolls and toys! A must-go-and-dance if in Bogota!
Are they laughing at me? are they serious and just wanna make my last days here excellent? I hope it's the latter! Caro , Andrew ( New Zealand) and Katha ( Luxembourg) decided to accompany me to Bogota,see me off and at the same time have another chance to visit the big cosmopolitan city. They are all calling me la reinita and asking me all the time what I feel like doing :PPP. Not too bad, ha? We left on Saturday morning, after one week of despedidas , starting from Monday with the guys from Alcance Social , every single night til Friday when we had the big party at Eafit and almost the entire EAFIT staff was there!It was great to see all the teachers together for one last time and although the party wrapped up at 11.30 pm , Caro and I didn't really feel like going to sleep...do we ever?? :PP..so off we went to Parque Lleras where Andrew ( our sweet kiwi friend who kind of turned over-night from our little Principito, just-one-of-the-guys into a regular Prince Charming for Caro :PPP ) was waiting for us. They were inaugurating a new street in Parque Lleras- LUNA , another reason to party all night long in the street! We stayed til 2am when we decided to go home, get some sleep and get ready for the journey.I slept at Caro's place and had to wake up early, only after 4 hours of sleep ,to go take my huge suitcase and catch a taxi to the terminal.I was there at 8.00 European time! and even managed to nap on the bus!

We had first hand welcoming from Andres, an AIESEC newie and his family.
On our first night out we went to Jugeteria, a nice cross-over club where we danced with some quite crazy Bogotanos which made me realize that Colombians are the same everywhere, though the feeling is indeed a bit different and I could see more people sitting down and just watching, rather than dancing or chatting, the way I was used to in SM or Medellin.The atmosphere is a bit different, but not a lot and people are just as friendly, they come up to you and invite you to dance.

The second day in Bogota we were walking downtown when we ran into Dave! Imagine in a city of 8-9 million people, where you have been for only 2 days, you run into somebody you know!Dave, from England,an AIESEC trainee teaching for Colombo who was killing time before his flight out that very evening. We went together and had lunch in a nice traditional house-restaurant , spent hours talking and decided to go to Villa Leyva the next day. That is another storey, I will tell you all about it in my next entry.

I am now writing this on my very last night in Colombia. I am leaving tomorrow, Wednesday, the 20th, 6.30pm, with Air France, gonna be in the air 10.30 hours , have one stop in Paris, land in Vienna and take the train to Romania. After sunny Colombia, eternal spring- Medellin, eternal autumn- Bogota ( my personal invention :pp ), a cold Europe is awaiting me.



Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

me and Katha ( Luxembourg) me and Katha ( Luxembourg)
me and Katha ( Luxembourg)

on the way to Bogota. A brave 19 y.o. girl doing volunteer work in Medellin.
JugeteriaJugeteria
Jugeteria

a disco place full of dolls and toys! A must-go-and-dance if in Bogota!
me and a nuts Colombian man :))))me and a nuts Colombian man :))))
me and a nuts Colombian man :))))

my last salsa in Colombia. Thank you, I was to drunk to remember your name for a very nice evening!


22nd December 2006

Miss you
Hola reinita. I am already missing you a lot. I've spent the most amazing time with you in my home city . Thank you for teaching me to love my country. I'll miss our long conversations about men which never reached an agreement.

Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0288s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb