Livin´ La vida Local


Advertisement
Colombia's flag
South America » Colombia » Barranquilla
July 20th 2008
Published: July 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bas and I have finally parted ways in Taganga after a huge bloody battle where we fought tooth and nail over the qualities of different Colombian beer.

Ok I jest a bit. We parted ways most amicably as can be expected as he is an all around great guy, but I started to feel the pull of the Big City so I can get back to regular Naa Speed.

I can hear Bas groaning...

Barranquilla Colombia



Ok, So it´s not exactly the City of Lights. In fact most people who I spoke to (Colombians included) looked at me in wonder and stated without reservation that there is no tourism in Barranquilla. While the locals often noted that it is ´Chevere´ (cool) , tourists were less than impressed. One fellow went so far as to call it a ¨shit town¨, but I looked forward to my trip as a way to escape the blissful ease of Taganga. I swear. I´d started looking at property there. At any rate, I couldn´t possibly turn down an invitation to visit the family of my Spanish Teacher.

My arrival in Barranquilla was a bit flubbed. I couldn´t understand the Bus Driver, nor the lady helping the bus driver, nor the cab
Mi Profesora´s FamilaMi Profesora´s FamilaMi Profesora´s Famila

DIana and Hector Chalela
driver the bus driver put me in. Luckily I had a phone number and called to let the native speakers figure it out. I was deposited in a cab headed somewhere while everything the cabbie said came into my ears in the ¨Wah wah waaaaaah wah¨ language of the adults in Charlie Brown´s world. When we arrived at the location, he started driving in circles and I swore I was really lost cuz I would have to call in broken Spanish to try to figure out where my contact was.

Then a guy just got in the car and told the driver to go.

Shit.

I´m getting Kidnapped.

No one wants me back home! My family is made of broke peanut farmers all named Bubba!!! Leave me my memory cards and take the rest!!!

My panic was a bit premature as the gentleman was Hector Chalela who correctly figured that a blackman with a backpack had to be his daughter´s friend. It was still a block or so before I f¡gured out who the heck HE was though.

Hector and Diana Chalela are wonderful folk who conspired to prove all of the fellows who naysayed Barranquilla wrong. I had a blast as we travelled the coast looking at the first port of Colombia, the city center (Named after Simon Bolivar like most other places here) and looked into various restaurants and places most tourists wouldn´t think of as cultural. It was the perfect place to find out about real life in Colombia.

Even a simple trip to the shopping mall was a vision in sightseeing as I figured out that all of my boys need to go to Barranquilla to find themselves a Colombian wife...

I could say that I was a great conversationalist and had the best convos in spanish ever.

But I´d be lying..and badly at that.

Speaking with Hector was fine until about the 4th or 5th sentence when he started to speak Colombian spanish...not the slow stuff for us gringos. Diana was a bit better about speaking slowly. Sometimes she translated Colombian Spanish to Spanish for me.

I learned how to play dominoes. Though I was chided as being like Hector´s ´wife´ for not hopping in the first games, I was able to glean the rules a bit after a while...well not really, but I did start to understand why the guy on the right started to yell every 15 minutes or so...

In all, it was great to feel a bit of parental love even if it was directed at Shahima through me. I felt a bit of surrogate pride as they repeated how proud they were to have a daughter who taught me. I was happy to say (in truth) that Shahima is a great teacher and it is her doing that I could speak to anyone at all...

Thanks to the entire Chalela clan!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Fishing boatsFishing boats
Fishing boats

I swear they carried in the fish we were eating a second before the cooked it...
On the Oldest port in  ColombiaOn the Oldest port in  Colombia
On the Oldest port in Colombia

At least I think that´s what Hector said
Mamma´s a Vamp!Mamma´s a Vamp!
Mamma´s a Vamp!

Here she is getting hit on by a youngster.
Local foodLocal food
Local food

After Buy a sim card fro my phone (Thanks Nobes!) the guy who sold it to us made us Soup for lunch. Awesome. Local. For real.


23rd July 2008

im the first to comment...seems fun and stuff. uuhhhhh yea
23rd July 2008

Chevere
Me reí en voz alta a tu referencia a Charlie Brown. Me alegro de que no eras secuestrado y que tenías un experiencia buena con la familia de tu profesora. Sobre visitas turísticas (realmente las chicas), ¿cómo se puede "odio" en la tierra de Shakira viene? ;)
23rd July 2008

it's a love-hate thang
Is it possible to be simultaneously happy for and hatin' on someone for living such a life? I mean, I'm loving the vicarious thrill I get reading about your adventures but it sucks that I ain't there. Sigh ... Get your butt home already!
23rd July 2008

naeeem!!!hows life in barranquilla??now i am in venezuela to break up with my girlfriend,and to return to taganga....yess i cannot leave the f.place.i changed my ticket to amsterdam for 3 weeks later and i will go work at jessies and travel with anna.she put a curse on me....but you will understand how that happens!!great to read about your travels.take care my friend.Bas
23rd July 2008

to Bas
I KNEW I had to get out of there. Taganga will trap you! I was about to get a job and some property there! Good for you though. Tell the Lioness of the Sea I said hi! Nb
23rd July 2008

to Monette
Man I wish ya´ll folk would stop tryin´to wish me back bringin´me bad mojo. I wanna be gone as long as I can.
24th July 2008

Holaaaaaaaaaa estoy feliz de que hayas hecho este blog para mi familia....muchas gracias!!!!! amo barranquilla, amo colombia!!! es el paraiso!!
25th July 2008

Fue un Placer!
Naeeem, gracias por tus palabras....de verdad fue un placer conocerte y atenderte en nuestra ciudad. Suficiente que seas amigo de Shahima para quererte. Esperamos vuelvas pronto a Barranquilla...Te buscaremos novia aqui!!
25th July 2008

really enjoying your trip!!
Hi!! I am really enjoying your trip from here! Saludos desde México!
26th July 2008

Un gran placer
Gracias Naeem por tus palabras...La verdad fue muy agradable conocerte y poder atenderte...La proxima vez que vengas seguramente lo haremosmejor...Besos
26th July 2008

Keep Livin'
Trust me, I know how it feels to have the haters trying to curse you back to them. Ignore it! Continue to enjoy yourself. And if really want to, go back to Taganga and buy that property! I'm sending you a ton of good vibes to balance out the curses.
31st July 2008

Lee of Detroit says... Hey Prince Na, DC's Bandit sent me your link. I checked it out and was blown out of Michigan! I had him on the phone and was checking out the blog on the other end. I could hear him laughing at my reactions. I told him to remind you not to give up your talent while you are down there. I would be very interested to experience what you see with graphite and 60lb sketch paper. You have enough room in your back pack right? Exclusive-Lee Lee

Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1968s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb