It's a Wind.....?????


Advertisement
Published: May 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So I just wrote this travel blog and it was good, but I lost it because the internet disconnected. So I went to yet another place in Chile that seemed to be utterly amazing by its appearance. It was my first time there so I was in complete AWE. I think I will travel to this destination yet another time to have an "Amanda" moment. You know, everyone needs a moment to themselves and what better place to do it than in another country at the end of the world in a beautiful location?? Rest my case, I'm goin' back! Unfortunately we were unable to take pictures from this day due to technical difficulties with Carina's camera (the batteries died). Ariel even bit them and everything to try to make it so we could take some pics. Guess that's some method about recharging batteries of which I never heard about. But don't worry, I'm attaching pictures from a few weeks ago when Carina went and took pictures. I'll have some on here from when I go, just not from yesterday.

So after reaching our destination (which was quite a challenge) to sit and enjoy the view I noticed something on
What a viewWhat a viewWhat a view

The sand dunes in Con Con are just Amazing!!
a rock in the ocean that made me think of the ranch. It was the thing that you put on top of a house or building or whatever, to measure which way the wind travels. If anyone could help me out with what it's called I would greatly appreciate that. We were racking our brains trying to figure out what it is called.
Carina: OH gosh what are those called?
Amanda: Wind something....
Carina: Something with vain....like wind vain
Amanda: Maybe it's like a wind compass cause it kinda looks like one??
Everyone's still thinking at this point.....
Amanda: Oh...it's a wind-o-meter, that's it!
Carina: Is that even a word?? Wind-o-meter
Amanda: I don't know...is it not??
Jennie: (5 minutes later after some silence she blurts out) No....it's a WIND.......THING!
That pretty much ended that discussion.

After we all got a little chilly (here in Chile, ha-ha....old joke) we decided to move the gathering to Juan's apartment where we enjoyed some interestingly good pancakes (not sure if they were Juan's style or Chilean style). They only cost us each 500 pesos, I mean why is that?? Another unsolved mystery of the Chilean way. The pancakes consisted of pancake batter,
CON CON, CHILECON CON, CHILECON CON, CHILE

SAND DUNES
jamón, some white sauce and some jelly. Upon having our pancakes I watched a Chilean movie (sexo con amor), had a long conversation, walked Carina to the bus (locked arms together), lost Jennie and Ariel, walked the streets with Javier in search of them, united together, headed for another beach adventure, and then after a little bit of some Gato Negro I decided to head for the house and go to bed. It was a beach filled day for me.

Today at about noon I felt yet another tremor. I'm not sure if it is because they are new to me, but I find them quite exciting. When we were discussing tremors at the dinner table today Roberto told us that when I got here in Chile it was said that in south Chile there was a bad rumor that there was going to be a Tsunami during the month of February or March. The rumor was spread by fisherman who said the "mar" looked different. It never occurred and probably had no chance of happening. However, during the rumor the entire town fled and a lady died of a heart attack. So, let's take that as a lesson
Foot Prints in the SandFoot Prints in the SandFoot Prints in the Sand

Ariel & Eduardo
and BE CAREFUL with what you say. Rumors can cause some damage.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Viña del MarViña del Mar
Viña del Mar

The view of Viña from Con Con
Sunsets in South AmericaSunsets in South America
Sunsets in South America

The sunset of Con Con
Sand DunesSand Dunes
Sand Dunes

The breathing taking view in Con Con
Break TimeBreak Time
Break Time

Jennie, Eduardo and Ariel


14th May 2005

I GOT IT
Those are beautiful pics. By the way Mandy it is called a weathervane. I guess I can help some times. I know you are really enjoying it there. I can see that and hear it in you too. I am SO PROUD OF YOU AND I MEAN THAT WITH ALL MY HEART. I LOVE YOU MOM - MOM
15th May 2005

I LOVE IT!
OMG I wish I was there with you. I miss you sooo much and when you get back we are going to have soo much fun! Talk to you soon! And you look hot too ;) - Brian
16th May 2005

It's called an anemometer..
Your wind-o-meter's technical name is called an anemometer (it kinda' bothered me because I couldn't think of the actual name of it either), which is defined as an instrument used to measure wind speed. Love Ya, hang in there, and keep having fun. - Carlton
19th May 2005

Well, those pics will make anyone want to go there! It is so beautiful! I can tell you are having a great time but I can't wait to see you! I love ya girlie! XOXO~ Nicki - Nicki
21st May 2005

Wind-O-Meter
I love that one. Well, I guess you don't need to know what the name of it is anymore. I'll have to tell you though, windometer sounds better than weather vain. I think I'm gonna use that from now on. Thanks. Kinna like, when we play "doggs". Love ya girl.....ha ha. Oh, and the pic.......I'm jealous. Have the time of your life. You only live once sis. - Angela

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb