Thought for the Day


Advertisement
Published: May 9th 2005
Edit Blog Post

This may be a little deep for a travel blog, but it's my thoughts and I feel like sharing them.
So here it goes......

I never realized just how much a person can change by experiencing something completly unfamiliar. What exactly does it mean to seperate yourself from everything that is so familiar, everything you love, everything ostensibly comfortable? How does it change you to be a better person?

"It takes a lot of courage to release the familiar and seemingly secure, to embrace the new. But there is no real security in what is no longer meaningful. There is more security in the adventurous and exciting, for in movement there is life, and in change there is power."

I woke up this morning and a huge part of me felt like my life is going in a direction but not exactly sure where it's heading. I have spent some of my life running from things that scare me and putting myself into places where others think it may be even scarier. To me, that gives me adventure, excitement, movement, change and power. I grow personally from moving myself away from familiar and seemingly secure places in order to embrace the new. My confusion with my life is how can I change to make my life suit me and the kind of person I am. I think that you make the best out of your life by doing the things that opens your mind in every angle possible. I would like to think that my mind is quite open when it comes to living my life experience to the fullest. I feel like I am such a determined person that no matter what I will not fail myself just so long as that determination does not weaken. Anything is possible to attain in life if your mind is set to the idea and doesn't drift astray. Everything that happens in life that marks a bruise because it was painful only makes you that much stronger and that much better as a person. Do not regret things that create these painful marks but thank them for happening because they have marked you as the person you are. If you accept the positive of the painful mark as opposed to dwelling on the negetive of it, you will relieze how it can better you as a person. Whether the mark be painful or joyful, it creates a learning experience and creates change inside of you. Life can be scary, it can be exciting, it can be adventurous, and it can be every emotion you could possibly think of. Through these times in life you learn who your true friends are, you learn what love really means and how people express it differently, you learn what it's like to be away from your famiy and what you concider to be "home", and you learn to accept who you are and who you are growing to become.

Advertisement



5th May 2005

Couldn't have said it better myself
Cous' I couldn't have said it better myself. I'm so proud of you for stepping out on that limb and jumping. Life is exciting and scary in the same moment, however, it's dealing that makes you stronger. Although my journey has not led me out of the states, my internship to Washington D.C. was amazingly self-rewarding and life-changing. D.C. can be a very scary place but extremely empowering and motivating. Laws that change our everyday lives as U.S. citizens happens at that very place. That summer changed me for the better and I realized there was life out of Texas. These six months will fly by and one day you will look back on it and think... "i did that..." You continue to embrace your bruises and marks and I will do the same. I miss you and love you. Your forever friend and cousin ~Randi - Randi

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb