“Micro” + “Phone” ≠ “Microphone”


Advertisement
Published: July 28th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Today….I rode the bus! Without an adult. For the first time. I even had to say almost 10 words to the bus driver! The bus here is called the “Micro”. Many of you know that this is much more than a baby step for me. I don’t even like to order by myself at Subway….in English. This is just one of 3 or 4 peculiar phobias that I hope to conquer during my stay in Chile ☺. As of last night, I can also now communicate with folks here in Chile por teléfono. Another giant leap for Rachel. I haven’t successfully made a phone call yet, but we’re taking baby steps here, remember?
In other news, I was in the news! I returned from the movie theater tonight (Harry Potter for the 2nd time) only to find out that my host family had seen me in a close-up earlier this evening on the news. Apparently they ran a section on the international students at my university. The only students on campus at this point are the international students. The rest of Chile is busy protesting the high cost of a college education in this country. All the university buildings in Valparaiso are boarded up with chairs and desks piled to block anyone from entering. This strike has been going on for 2 weeks now with marches and demonstrations in many of the larger cities. The university hopes to reach an agreement with the students and professors within the next 3 weeks so that we can all start classes soon.
In the meantime, I spend a lot of time walking around the town with friends and chatting with my host family. Last night my host family asked me if I was going to go out and sing karaoke at a bar down the street. “They even have songs in English, Raquel!” Sorry family, I can conquer my fear of “Micros” and “Fonos” but I’m pretty sure microphones are still out of the question ☺.



Advertisement



28th July 2011

!
This is wonderful! :) :) :)

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb