Chilly, Chile y Chili


Advertisement
Published: July 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

To be utterly honest, chili has nothing to do with this post. It just fit so well. Chilly and Chile, however, have everything to do with this post. Let’s start with Chilly. Although I do not have ready access to a thermometer, I think it safe to say that it is approximately 60 degrees outside. Not bad for the winter, and with the sun shining, down right beautiful. The methods of heating houses are slightly different here though. They use an “estufa” (space heater) to heat the house. Unfortunately this method is not exactly what I’d call efficient. Needless to say, my toothpaste and chapstick are rather difficult to squeeze out of their tubes. Silver lining: new appreciation for warm showers.
Now for Chile. ¡Que linda! This phrase sums it up. Beautiful! The sea is a ridiculously long walk, something like 4 blocks from my apartment ☺. I can’t complain. And the city center you ask? 4 blocks in the other direction. Today Manuel and I took a long walk along the beach. Our conversation ranged from Chilean norms to the purpose behind the existence of God and mankind. Although we did not agree on everything, I felt honored that he would share his beliefs with me.
Chily, Chile, and Chili. All very different, but similar as well. Here are just a few of the similarities that I have found between los norteamericanos y los chilenos: LOST, popular in both places (as it should be). Hand and Foot (Canasta), they were quite impressed that I knew how to play. Talento Chileno (Chilean version of America’s Got Talent). Lady Gaga, Justin Beiber, Barney, Mickey Mouse, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, and many more! What an incredible country, Chilly Chile!


Advertisement



27th July 2011

Eres lo maximo!
Rachel! Te amo! Its so cool we were put in the same group today at school! And also, I must say that your dad, Manuel, is really cool. And your mom to! Vamos a ve..er...er...er..errrrr :) I can't wait until HARRRYYY POTTEERRRR manananananannanaaa!!!

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb