Chilean Boyfriend? No thanks.


Advertisement
Published: July 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Here’s a little advice: when asked if you think a Chilean boy is guapo, always say “no”. Yesterday the ex-pololo (ex-boyfriend) of Francisca came for a visit. After he left she asked me if I “found him handsome”. I thought to myself, “well yeah, I suppose so. Hmmm, well kind of, oh I don’t know.” All these thoughts passed through my head but somehow all that came out of my mouth was “Sí”… Oops. The whole family jumped on that bandwagon like it was Noah’s ark when the water reached the rooftops! They were so excited. I was asked at least 10 times if I wanted Francisca to set up a date for me. Um thanks, but I think I’ll pass. Note to self: in Chile, one must always “find” boys ugly ☺.
In news outside of my love life, I’m officially registered for classes! I do, however, need to find out from the conservatory in Valporaiso if it’s possible for me to take piano lessons from one of their teachers. I thought registering for classes at Whitworth was a pain, but little did I know how long it would take me here. 4 hours. But at least it’s over with. No more school-oriented thoughts until Monday when all the madness begins.
Today I had the incredible opportunity of sharing my faith with my Chilean family! They are very interested in learning about what I believe and the differences between Christianity and Catholicism or Mormonism. They themselves are not Catholic because they don’t want to have to follow all of the “rules and requirements” of being Catholic. Sylvia told me that she doesn’t believe anything really, except that there is a God. The family really enjoyed talking about our faiths so I hope we can resume the topic soon. In the meantime, I would really appreciate your prayers!




Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb