...and miles and miles


Advertisement
Published: July 9th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hey ya´ll!

I am officially living in Viña. Unfortunately I don´t think pictures are going to be possible after all, because the computers here are painfully slow and old, but I´ll try and get at least a couple up at some point.

San Pedro was incredible. The people were awesome, and every tour we did was awesome. We went to the salt flats which were very cool, though apparently the 3rd biggest of the world, the 2nd biggest being in the states. They were multicolored however which was pretty amazing. It was freaking cold though. We went up to 4800 meters and arrived around 7am. We spent the entire day driving and walking around the flats and mountains. I think my favorite part of that one though was actually the froze lake. It freezes in a really neat way because it´s so windy out there.

We also went to El Tatio Geysers, which once again were crazy cold but very cool. No single geyser was all that impressive, but it´s a field of them which definitely create a cool effect. My favorite tour however, was going to the lagunas. One was around 40% salt, which I got in though Torin chickened out. It was fun and I´m glad I did it and all, but my stupidly sensitive skin did not care for it. I actually got a burn and cuts from the salt. The other laguns are called the two eyes. They create a perfect reflection which allows for some fun pictures. We also watched an amazing sunset out there while drinking pisco sours, the national drink of both Chile and Peru.

My apartment is huge, with 2 living rooms and 5 bedrooms though an unfortunately small kitchen. My roommates are all very cool. Crazily one is one is Miriam´s cousin. I just finished my first week of spanish classes and adore my professora. We´re going dancing in Valpo tonight. Viña is pretty though I haven´t had a chance to do much exploration yet. My apartment is literally 2 blocks from the beach though, which I am loving.

That´s about all I´ve got for now. I´m not very articulate today as I haven´t slept much and have been speaking in spanish for the past 4 hours. I´ll try and blog more about Viña soon.

Lots of love from afar

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0489s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb