Waiting for the New Year


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Valparaíso Region » Valparaíso
December 31st 2007
Published: December 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

I spent the last 2 days in Valparaiso and nearby Viña del Mar. They are both suburbs of Santiago (only 2 hours away). Valparaiso is considered the cultural capital of Chile, and Viña is a rich suburb. The new year´s eve is supposed to be a big thing in Valparaiso, and they have fireworks that last for more than 20 minutes (so I was told). So far, I wandered the streets of Valpraiso and the beaches of Viña, and I had a nice time, but had it not been for the new year, I would have skipped this place, and continued trekking. I am also paying an absurd amount of money for lodging here, because of the demand for the new year, and to an old handicapped lady, but I can cope with that for one night.
Tomorrow, after the new year, I am going to Santiago for the day, and then taking a night bus to Pucon, where I´m supposed to meet Yegor, an army buddy of mine, and probably lots of other Israelis that I´ve met before. I also half decided to spend more time trekking in Patagonia, and skip Carnaval.




Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0262s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1016.6kb