La Serena


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Coquimbo Region » La Serena
December 29th 2007
Published: December 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today I smelled something that I thought I´d never smell again. But before I get to that, let me tell you about yesterday first.
Yesterday I went on a tour of the Elqui Valley, which is a very fertile valley, full of different types of fruit
orchards, near La Serena. The tour was supposed to be in English, but at the last minute that was changed, so I went on yet another Spanish speaking tour, which was fine because the rest of the group spoke Spanish. We saw a big dam, which holds water for 5 years for the valley, we saw a pisco factory, and had a little taste, and we saw the grave and musuem of Gabriela Mistral (if you heard of her, you´re better than me), who lived in the valley, and won the Nobel Prize for Literature. Later that night, I went on a different tour to an observatory, and the guide there did speak English, and was really good. We saw some constellations in reverse (because this is the southern hemisphere), like Orion upside down, and had a great time in general.
As for today, I went on a tour to the National Reserve of Humboldt Pinguins, which was very nice. We drove for almost 2 hours, then got on a small boat and sailed around to see some animals. First we saw sea lions, and the smell I thought I´d never smell again was sea lion droppings, and then we saw some cormorants, and some pinguins, which are very cute. Then we had an hour on Damas Isle to wander around a bit, and came back.
I am heading to Valparaiso tonight, where I´ll spend New Year´s eve, and then on to Pucon.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Cool BirdCool Bird
Cool Bird

I have no idea what it is


Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0922s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb