Volunteering


Advertisement
Published: May 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I had one of the biggest cultural shocks of my life today. I joined this volunteer group, called English Opens Doors, and it is where native English speakers go into the public and semi-private schools and help out the teachers. So today was my first day and I have never seen a class so disorganized. Compared to the students at my dad’s school, his students were angels. I walked into my first class and the teacher was writing instructions on the board and the class wasn’t even paying attention to her. After she wrote the instructions and somewhat introduced me she went back to her desk and sat down. She would help them if they came up to her, but she just wasn’t active with them and 95% of the time everyone just spoke Spanish. I felt that she didn’t care if they learned; it just shocked me. I don’t think all the schools are like this, especially the private ones, I haven’t had the chance to talk about it with my family but I became extremely grateful for the education system in the U.S. no matter how messed up it may seem at times.
But this past Friday I went to Santiago with one of my friends and we went shopping for warm clothes. I got a pea coat for $18, it’s a bit big but I like it. And I also went a little scarf happy, buying four, but they are much used and needed here. It’s not that it is much colder here then at home, it’s just that heaters aren’t used as much and in my house we have a fire but it doesn’t heat up the house that well because the house is so big. But I saw my host mom put some heaters out so hopefully we will be using those soon.
And Saturday I went to Pablo Nerudo’s house in Isla Negra, and I must say he has some of the most interesting houses. They are all in amazing spots with beautiful views, but my favorite part of his houses is how they are constructed. I feel like they all have a secret to them, the design is so random but that’s what makes the house.
Well that’s it for now! I’ll talk to you all soon!
Love Lindsay


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0517s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb