update


Advertisement
Published: April 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hello all! I didn’t write about last weekend and I wanted to do that before this upcoming weekend. Last Saturday my program went to Horcòn and Zapallar. They are both really cute beach towns but sadly it was a rather cold and gloomy day. But Horcòn is famous for their empanadas, so we obviously had to test them out. I had a shrimp empanada and then later a crab empanada, and I must say that they can keep their reputation. When we arrived in Zapallar I fell in love. It is definitely an upper class town but it was gorgeous! It had a pretty small beach and then just trees and hills surrounding it, making it seem very secluded. While we were there, we walked along a rode and saw a little artesian stand so we stopped and looked. We started talking to the guy that was working there and a few of the locals came up and introduced themselves and one man spoke a little English. So he started talking to us and showed us where he worked and introduced us to the owner of some of the fishing boats. Then when we were leaving he decided to take us on a tour of the town. So we start following him and every once in awhile he would stop and say, “Look at this! It is beautiful. All the people here can live in other countries but they stay here in Chile. You are intelligent people for studying here. How can you have all of this?” And while he was saying this he would open his arms up to the world, we really didn’t know what to do. So we just agreed with him because we do like it here a lot, but at the end of the ‘tour’ we decided that he was a bit tipsy because when were where he worked there were beer bottles everywhere and they offered us some Johnny Walker. But it was a lot of fun! Oh, and when we were on our ‘tour’ some person had their own helicopter! I don’t even think he was expecting that!
But while we were there my friends and I decided that strange occurrences like that are getting a lot more normal. Things like that and then when I was in Perù are getting a lot more normal. I don’t know if that is good or not? I guess it is because I’m becoming a lot more relaxed.
But this weekend I am going to Mendoza, Argentina where they produce 60%-70% of Argentina’s wine. I can’t remember the exact numbers and I left my travel book in Perù, on accident of course. But it should be a lot of fun! But after this, I’m going to have to slow down on the trips!
Oh and I don’t know if you heard that there was an earthquake here In Valapraìso, but there was and I’m fine, I didn’t even wake up, apparently everyone else in the house did but me! But I think that is all for now! I’ll talk to you later!
Love Lindsay


Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1595s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb