Chilling in Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Tarapacá » Iquique
December 11th 2008
Published: December 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Chilean sunsetsChilean sunsetsChilean sunsets

The amazing sunset view from my hostel balcony
As I´ve been sunning myself on the Chilean coast for the past week in preparation for a cold and hopefully white Christmas in Patagonia, I must say I am pretty impressed with Chile so far. It´s first world compared to Peru and Bolivia - and it´s so easy to get around. The underground in Santiago is reliable and clean and the beaches of the north are awesome. I have spent 5 days in a desert town called Iquique on the beach and then I visited the lovely port town of Valparaiso which is a UNESCO World Heritage site. The sunsets have been amazing and the weather has been hot hot hot. The Chilean people are also very nice and I am currently down south in amongst lush green valleys and snow covered volcanos in Puerto Montt. The landscapes are just so amazingly different in each corner of this country. It really has everything.

Santiago is very modern and huge - we went up to a look out to view the city and I couldn´t believe how giant it was. Walking around town the place is a buzz with Christmas activity and all day shopping. The lifestyle of eating around 11pm,
VinoVinoVino

As you can imagine I´m loving the Chilean wines!!!
heading out to party at 1am and then sleeping till 1pm is definitely something I could easily get used to. Though I must say that the males are VERY forward and as a result, if you´re me, you tend to run a mile!

From now on it´s going to be cold cold cold until we hit Buenos Airies for a New Years Eve to beat all New Years Eve´s! My next blog will be after Christmas once I have survived the trekking in Patagonia.

Have a great Christmas everyone!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Northern ChileNorthern Chile
Northern Chile

Giant sand dunes
Northern ChileNorthern Chile
Northern Chile

Where the desert meets the sea
ChileChile
Chile

Desert oasis
IquiqueIquique
Iquique

Some of the Iquique gang...
ValparaisoValparaiso
Valparaiso

The beautiful port town of Valparaiso


Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb