Santiago - Some have grapeness thrust upon them


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
May 18th 2011
Published: May 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Once again misunderstanding seems to dog my steps. My mentioning to our guide on a vineyard tour that I had once eaten a grape seems to have been mistranslated as 'I am the European champion vineyard horticulturalist on a tour of South American growing areas'. Chile, determined to steal a march on its neighbours immediately initiated television coverage of me judging the Santiago and Region 'Vine of Vines' (see first photograph). They even insisted that I be taken to a local music store where a celebratory charango was specially made for me (see second photograph). Fortunately a half-hour lesson with the ukulele five years ago came back to me and I was able to master the charango within two weeks. In fact I found it so easy that I augmented the charango by the attachment of pan pipes to it. I found the wind resistance of a beard somewhat inhibiting to the rapid head movements needed for some of my more intricate passages on the pipes and so shaved it off the for the series of concerts that I gave in Santiago (see last picture).

[Una vez más malentendido seguir los pasos de mi. Mi mención a nuestra guía en una visita a una viña que había comido una vez una uva parece haber sido mal traducido como «yo soy el campeón del horticultor viñedo europeo en una gira por América del Sur áreas de cultivo». Chile, decidido a gagnar una superioridad sobre sus vecinos de inmediato inició la cobertura televisiva de mí juzgar la Santiago y la Región "la major vid" (ver primera foto). Incluso insistió en que será llevado a una tienda de música local, donde se hizo un charango de celebración especial para mí (ver segunda foto). Afortunadamente, recuerdo una lección de media hora con el ukelele hace cinco años y yo era capaz de dominar el charango en dos semanas. De hecho lo encontré tan fácil que me aumentó el charango por la unión de una flauta de Pan a la misma. He encontrado la resistencia del viento de la barba un tanto la inhibición de los movimientos rápidos de la cabeza necesaria para algunos de mis pasajes más intrincados de la flauta de Pan y por lo afeitó para la serie de conciertos que dio en Santiago (ver última foto).]


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb