March 3++


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
March 3rd 2011
Published: March 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

March 3
So with out getting to emotional obviously I really like Denisse and have fun with her even when we do nothing. it's amazing how time is flying by. I think about what will happen when I leave.
 
Anyway we both got on email stuff this am, her for school me just staying connected. 
We had breaky then hung out and I am pushing her to plan for la Serena she hasn't asked/told her mom yet but hoping soon. Then Walley made us a nice lunch and we went to buy some exercise equipment but the weights were too expensive so she just bought a jump rope then we went to her dr appointment.  Her mother and i sat outside and waited for her we had a nice conversation from what i could gather haha. Then we went to buy some tea for her mother because I wanted to give her something to thank her for letting me stay. 
When we got back to the house we hung out a bit and then went to California cantina obviously an American bar haha. I had some wings that were super weak and I told Denisse to have one and she started crying it was to hot for her. Haha some of her friends came and we hung out a while and also had some French fried nachos. Haha my slice of America haha. 

March 4 fhndai
So we had asemi lazy morning and then rushed to try and visit her sister in the hospital before her surgery, she is getting lapband surgery but we were to late. She wanted to wait to see her after the surgery so we are waiting around. She did finally tell her mother last night that we were going to la Serena but today I dont think her mom wants her to go because she starts school on Monday, but it's not like she has to prepare anything. She eventually told her she was just going. So we went back to her house ate lunch and packed up.  Were back at the hospital now so she can see her sister before we leave, we bought her flowers on the way. 
So road tripping to la Serena was good we talked alot about silly things as well as past relationships and what not. She drove most of the way but her knee started hurting towards the end so I took over. When we got there we drove around in circles trying to figure out where on my little map we were. When we finally did we stopped at a few hostels but they were all booked up and not on the beach and in what looked like a bad part of town so I said f it let's go back to the nice places on the beach and I'll pay for it. We drove around to a few because they were booked as well then just when we were gonna get an expensive one on the beach the hotel receptionist told us they had a branch a few blocks away not right on the beach but a little cheaper. So we went there and were pleasantly surprised it was a beautiful little place with pool. 
Well by the time we got sorted it was so late we pretty much fell asleep with out dinner. 

March 5
So after a slow morning we headed to the beach to check it out and hang out but we stopped at the light house first to take some photos. We had a great lunch at a nice place right on the beach, with awesome seafood. Then spent the rest of the avo relaxing on the beach. We talked about me giving her a surf lesson but it was windy and we were a bit tired. So we just lied one the beach all avo. We went for some coffee at another restaurant on the beach. Then went back to out hotel hung out. 
MnB

March 6 time flys with her
So we had to be out of the hotel by 12 today and of course it wasn't a minute earlier. We went to the bus station to try and get me a ticket to Iquique but everything was booked up till tomorrow. I decided rather than spend the night alone and most of tomorrow alone I'd drive back to Santiago and leave tomorrow from there. It'd add 7 hours or so to my bus trip but most of the buses are nice it wouldn't matter plus I'd get the full day and night with Denisse. So I got the ticket for that, then we went to have lunch at the beach this time we had pizza and it was delicious some fresh local cheese with peppers, fresh basil, oregano and shrimp, super tasty. When we got to the beach we lied down and napped a while, we finally left around 5:30 to head back. I drove the whole way for her, we stopped at small cheese shop in the famous cheese town, same cheese that was on our pizza. Anyway I wanted to pick some up for their house and we got an empanada as well. When we got back to Santiago we said hi to everyone and checked our emails then watched a movie Due Date it was hilarious. 

March 7 
So my bus leaves at 12:50 and Denisse was suppose to go talk to an advisor about her classes but she just called the woman instead. 
We played around all morning and she brought me breakfast in bed, so nice. Then her nanny made me lunch and Denisse took me to the bus stop. When my bus came we said our sad goodbyes I shed a tear or two. I'm really going to miss her I think I could fall in love with her if I haven't already. I haven't cried in years so it must mean something. I wish she didn't have school and I didn't have to get up to Lima I would have stayed. I had the idea of maybe coming back next year and teaching English while she's in school. But it's her summer when I would be able to come back and she will hopefully be in the USA doing and internship so maybe I'll just visit her that way. Well see. Time will tell. But we did agree that we were pretty much dating before I left. 
Anyway enough emotional feeling stuff. This bus sucks haha it's a small one and the seats are pretty crap and they almost didn't let me bring my board. I can't believe the bus though this is gonna be a 25 hour or so ride I think and it's pretty crap by normal south American standards. It's the semi cama but not the normal big chairs. Oh well. My home for the next day. Hopefully there will be surf in Iquique. 

March 8
So I arrived around 1:30 or so, so a 25 hour bus ride. Then I had to take a taxi to where I thought the Hostal was but I couldnt find it luckily there were others near by I went into the first one I saw the price was pretty standard so I took it. Put my things in the rooms checked the net for a bit then went to buy some food/groceries. When I got back I ate a snack then walked the beach to check the surf. It's a rocky coastline with sand peppered in it. I walked pretty much as far north as I could to see of there was a better spot to paddle out rather than near my place. There's not a whole lot of surf/not super consistent and not very big but at least there's something, right. I'm just watching a few guys out there now I'm gonna go suit up for a sunset sesh. 
So the sesh was ok, as good as you can ask for basically chest high beach break. I was the only gringo out there but the guys all seemed pretty nice. I surfed until dark then went in made a pretty solid dinner and tried to nick off to bed but the hostel is noisy not many people here but there's music blaring n walls are thin. It's a pretty shitty place. 


Advertisement



Tot: 0.242s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0547s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb