Santiago - fantastic city, not really sure why though!!!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
March 17th 2006
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Parque Balmaceda FountainParque Balmaceda FountainParque Balmaceda Fountain

On one of my wanderings through the city's parks I came across this massive fountain just as the Sun was beginning to go down.
Am on the verge of dragging myself away from Chile's capital Santiago, where I have been staying for the last two weeks. (Although this could all change as I am heading out for St Paddy's day tonight with a couple of Irish mates, and am booked on a bus tomorrow morning. They suggested starting drinking late - midday rather than the usual 9 a.m. I hope they're joking, but I fear they may not be!!)



As I've alluded to in the title, Santiago has been an absolutely great place to stay, but I can't really put my finger on why that is. Its not a city like Rio, or Sydney that has stand-out attractions in the conventional sense. I think its just a fun city, thats easy to get to know and to get around, and I've been lucky enough to spend my time here with some good people. This has been the final destination where Steve, Chris and I would be travelling together before they jetted to new Zealand, and I've been able to meet up with a friend from back home, Helen, who is working here teaching English for a year. Also, the guys I've met
Day at the Races - Club HipicoDay at the Races - Club HipicoDay at the Races - Club Hipico

A shot of the racecourse where we had a great day out. In the background you can just about see the towering Andes, and in the foreground the horses crossing the winning post (needless to say mine not among them!!)
at the hostel where I'm staying have been absolutely top dollar and provided many an hour of fun - albeit often fuelled by a fine Chilean Red!! I think all these things have helped contribute to making my stay in Santiago so enjoyable.



Anyway, some of the highlights have been as follows;



We spent a day out at the horses at Club Hipico. Free to get in, can bring all your own alcohol and food, and the minimum bet is 20p. All the ingredients for a fantastic day out. Unfortunately I did manage to lose about 3 grand betting on some 3 legged nags, but that equates to about GBP3.50, so overall it was a very cheap day of sunbathing and drinking. In addition, the racecourse must have one of the most beautiful settings in the world - fringed by the Andes which glow an incredible red as the Sun goes down.



Steve, Chris and I also found time to fit in some international cricket while in Santiago. Now I do admit that Chile may not be foremost on the list of top cricketing nations, but I now can claim the
Palacio Del La MonedaPalacio Del La MonedaPalacio Del La Moneda

The Presidential Palace spectacularly lit at night.
scalp of an international cricketer to my name as I bamboozled and beguiled the Chilean Atherton into surrendering his wicket (read, he tried to smash me out of the park for the umpteeth time and plopped a dolly into mid-wicket's hands!!!). As most of the Chilean's were ex-pats the emphasis of the day was much like back home: topping up the tan during the day, and enjoying a few beers afterwards!!



Top flight Chilean football has been sampled a couple of times, and I have to say its really not very good!! However, the Chilean's are very passionate about their game and one can get into their good books by simply mentioning "Salas" or "Zamarano", as is often done when the international language of football comes into play!!

I've been to see the most one-sided match ever - finished 5-0 but should have been at least 10-0, and a second game in which the terrible football on the pitch was made more bearable by watching the slightly nutty supporters taunting the riot police. Needless to say this resulted in a few baton charges and some fire-extinguisher based dousing which were entertaining, if slightly disturbing, to watch.
Valparaiso Street'sValparaiso Street'sValparaiso Street's

I took a day trip to this seaside town which is well-known for its colourful architecture.




Geographically, Santiago is set in a beautiful location: a city in a bowl, surrounded by the Andes. I climbed to the top of Cerro San Cristobal, a 400 metre high viewpoint which allows you to take in the panorama. Unfortunately, Santiago is also incredibly smoggy, so actually seeing the Andes can be a mite difficult at times (as you will see from the photos!!)



One thing that I didn't expect to be a highlight of Santiago was the food. The eating that has been done here has been exceptional!! We have been lucky in that Steve and Chris met a guy from Santiago, Tomas, on their travels in Ecuador, and he has been showing us to some of the best (and somehow cheapest) restaurants in town! We've had meat grills, traditonal Chilean fish dishes, fresh fish and even Chinese and all have been very good.



Overall, one of the main pleasures of Santiago has simply been to wander around its streets, plazas and parks taking in the sights and the beautiful weather. The city definately has something about it that I enjoy, and the locals have been very friendly when I've
View from Cerro San CristobalView from Cerro San CristobalView from Cerro San Cristobal

If it was''t so damned smoggy you might be able to see the Andes!!!
met them.

Santiago is a city with a lot of fun to be had, and is definately worth spending more time in than the two or so days suggested by most of the guidebooks.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Chilean  ParklifeChilean  Parklife
Chilean Parklife

The relaxed pace of life in Santiago. Old men enjoying the afternoon Sun playing draughts or cards.


Tot: 0.176s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 95; dbt: 0.0962s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb