La Pontificia Universidad Católica De Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
August 1st 2009
Published: August 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, I'v been in Santiago now for a week since my trip to Buenos Aires and Montevideo and I'v decided on my classes. I have the option of taking classes at 3 universities and the SU center. Originally I was going to try to take all my courses at La Universidad de Chile, but now I'v decided on the La Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile or PUC. PUC is considered the best University in the country and one of the best in Latin America. I will also be taking one class at the SU center because I need it to graduate. So, here is my schedule....
Desarrolla y el Medio Ambiente
Español Intermedio
Economia y Pobreza
Problemas Economica Latinoameric
All the classes are in Spanish, and even though my spanish class is call intermediate spanish, it's a 300 level. Desarrolla y el Medio Ambiente is about economic development in Latin America and its effects on the environment, its a 400 level course taught at the SU center and counts as the CapStone course for my major. The other two courses I'm not really sure about but they count for stuff, and are about economics, so... it should be fun.
All the courses that I'm taking at PUC are located at its San Joaquin, which is, well, amazingly gorgeous, It's far away from my house but, its nicer than any US campus I'v seen.
Some of my classes start this monday, but in Chile, you have two weeks before you need to attend class, the first two weeks are so you can try a course out and see how you like it and the professor, then after the first two weeks you can't miss class without a certificate form a doctor. Unlike in the US a professor in Chile doesn't have to justify his grading method or reason for giving grades to anyone, his/her class his/her rules.
Grading in general is different here, its on a scale of 0-7, 7 is the best 0 is the worst, and no one gets above a 6, most people get just below a 5. Anything below a 3 is an F, so that gives you a hint about how competitive and hard it is. Also another sign of how competitive PUC is, is that all grades for all students are posted publicly, for every assignment and for the entire semester. So if you fail, all 20.000 students at the university know it.
One really nice thing though, is you don't need to buy books for you classes. Because of the copyright laws in Chile when you need a book you go to the library and the copy the entire book for you, for free, no matter how many you need.
I apologize for grammar and spelling errors, I haven't been using english much, lol

Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb