La primera semana


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
February 12th 2006
Published: March 23rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

How to start... i know that´s cliche but that´s all i´ve got!

This week has been great although I´m constantly reminding myself not to think of Bolivia. After arriving on Monday morning we went pretty much straight to Linares, this little town an hour or two outside of Santiago. There are 20 of us from ND, 2 from Marquette and 3 from Milwaukee. I almost feel like I´m at summer camp, although this happens to be at the foot of the Andes and takes place in a new culture and involves fun new Chilean modismos.. it´s a new group of people getting to know each other, amazingly warm days, plenty of down time for soccer, cards, a swim in the river, napping, journaling, talking, whatever. The classes are great because we´re learning all the double meanings of words and our teacher makes sure to let us know how teh jovenes, or young ppl, talk so that we won´t be completely lost come March when we try to make friends haha.

This weekend we´re in Constitucion, this beach town and we´ll be going to this beach of black sand tomorrow. the water is freezing so i´ll let the other brave
Pre-program "cabin"Pre-program "cabin"Pre-program "cabin"

15 girls in one big room... just like summer camp days!
souls wade in. i think i´ll let my irish skin take in some sun.

I am thinking about Bolivia every day, I feel like everything reminds me of last summer! The music, landscape, phrases, food, the kids, the internet cafes, the plazas in every town... everything. It makes me really look forward to visiting Cochabamba again and seeing everyone.

I guess I don´t know exactly what I was expecting.. perhaps another Bolivia. I´m realizing it will be a lot different being here in Chile, especially during a semester as opposed to having an internship. That is, I can´t wear tshirts everyday haha. We have warm water wherever we go which I have learned to be grateful for. I feel more sheltered and think that Bolivia would´ve been a much harder experience if I had come here first. I mean, we weren´t exactly roughing it in Bolivia, but things are already smoother here! As of yet I honestly haven´t had that many interactions with the Chileans so I´m looking forward to our host family experiences in 2 weeks. Of course, I am really enjoying our time in Linares though! Esp. when I think of cold South Bend.

Well
Our soccer fieldOur soccer fieldOur soccer field

Just a little dusty
I gotta run. We´re off to explore this town, hit up the discoteca around 12 and the beach tomorrow!
hasta luego,
clara


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

LunchtimeLunchtime
Lunchtime

Dining as a group in Linares, a small little town we visited a few times during the pre-program
What a banana!What a banana!
What a banana!

Manu and I are shocked to find a double banana
MmmMmm
Mmm

Laura and I eat it anyway... Rachel's single banana just doesn't compare :)
Playa de los Gringos.. Playa de los Gringos..
Playa de los Gringos..

..yes that is what it's called! Paco, me, Josue, Laura in Constitución
Our leadersOur leaders
Our leaders

Our 3 beloved Spanish teachers we had for the 3 weeks of the pre-program, and our director Samuel


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb