I Have Taken the Weather With Me


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
June 10th 2008
Published: June 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The AndesThe AndesThe Andes

The View of the Andes from Central Santiago
Another day down in Santiago, and what of it so far? Well, its been not very warm, and fairly quiet, as is to be expected, as I am here in the off season - not one for skiing or snowboarding - not with my accident record!

Have done some sightseeing , but to be honest, there isn't a great deal to see. There are the obligitary museums and parks ( littered with the usual petty conmen trying to get you to give them money for their studies at uni - even though they all look at least 50)

The only slightly bizarre place I visited was the underground bunker built for Pinochet - It is now a shopping mall.

It could really be any European City, it is very cosmopolitan and clean. Not a great deal else to say about the place.

Did manage to find an Irish bar ( Even though there wasn't an Irishman to be seen!) so I've managed to watch a fair amount of Euro 2008

Probably the funniest thing to date, has been the ongoing challenge me and a couple of other fellow travellers have had, of trying to get the
ParkParkPark

Park Entrance In Santiago
lady behind the hotel reception desk to smile - I think that despite our best efforts we have failed miserably - just like her I guess!!

Moving up to Valparaiso today - hopefully it will be slightly more exciting than Santiago!!







Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

PalacePalace
Palace

Former Palace Of Pinochet


14th June 2008

Santiago to Valparaiso
Trev, I expect you have danced your way up from SANTIAGO (as I tango) to clean up in VALPARAISO (soap arival) naff I know, but best I could do. Yes I know arrival has two r`s. Love Mum x

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb