Buenas Dias Latin America


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
June 16th 2007
Published: August 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well i'm here, 11 hrs, not enough beer and they definitely speak spanish. Decided not to make a fool of myself on the flight and spoke English to the air hostesses!!!! Christ they do speak fast. Got bugger all sleep and went back in time as we crossed the international date line, I'm now 7 hours behind GMT.

A few pro surfers on the flight, Mick Fanning and others i didnt recognise. So theres surf to be found, maybe not at 2800m in quito tho!!!! The dude must have had 15 boards. He didnt recognise me so I blanked him!

Anyway, here we go, after being in the comfort zone of Australia and New Zealand, Im now in Santiago for night, then fly up to Quito!

Pretty excited, as finally I hope there´ll be a bit of a challenge to travelling, with the language barrier and the cultural differences. The old money will go a bit further and the average age of 18 for travellers will finally rise, I´m hoping!

Have made it with what little spanish I know to my hostel. Im gonna head out and have a sniff about, phrase book in hand!

Here goes!

Update: its 4am, made it about 1km, found the loudest bar in the area. I was the only white guy there! Wasnt long, until I got chatting to a few chicas! Its amazing what a phrase book and hand gestures can achieve. They think Im a complete nut for coming here and learning the language! I think I am as well, as I couldnt understand a think they said, and I supposedly did a course. Where is the train station isnt the best grounding mind you.

Anyway, so far so good, home I dont miss my flight tomorrow!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb