The big city baby!!!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
March 3rd 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arriving in Santiago was incredible. The city is massive and absolutly beautiful but I cant believe how modern it is. The cars are fancy, buildings tall and the people are dressed and act way more classy than anything ive seen elsewhere on my trip.
I finally parted ways with Molly and Luke and took a cab into Barrio Brasil (a nearby neighbourhood) and checked myself into a hostal.
I walked down into the common room and soon made friends with five australien guys that took me for a night on the town! Well actually more like the local girls they had met took me for a night on the town but it was tons of fun. We went for food at a chinese place and ate way too much. They made fun of the way I say ´about, ¨eh¨ and ¨tuesday,¨ and in return I
rampled off all the odd australien slang ive learned from all the other aussies I met. All in good fun and they are pretty cool guys.
Today was good but not very productive. Being the smart one, I caught a cab home early last night and didnt drink too much and was therefore not as incredibly hung over as everyone else. It was midafternoon before we headed out to explore more of the city.
They took me to the market that sold everything from crafts to freash meat. Literally pig heads were sitting on top of the counters. Surprisingly this didnt discorage me from trying the seafood that they raved about and it was fantastic! for two dollars I ate a full meal. Dessert was a churro,(a deep fried pastery stuffed with caramel and topped with icing sugar that you buy off the street) and was good.
We planned to climb a moutain and I was looking forward to the hike but after asking directions and getting a ride in the back of a local guys pick-up truck, I found myself heading up a very turistico cable car.
The site was pretty cool, it included a zoo and a bunch of other stuff but all we did was take pictures of the giant statue of the virgin mary and watch the sunset at the top.
We took the metro back to our district and somewhere along the way the guys insisted I try a meat shiskabob (kinda tasted like beef) that was bought from a steet vender. I was surprised at how juicy and delicious it was. Great day all in all but time for bed now.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



13th June 2007

advice
Hey Peggy...umm, Tanya Mueller here, not sure if you know who I am or not, but i'm kinda friends with Steff. Anyhow, I read alot of your blogs and it sounds like you had an amazing time!! I was wondering if maybe i could get your email or something to chat about it more. My boyfriend and I are heading to Santiago on August 20th. We'll be in South America for about 2months and want to see Chile, Argentina and Peru. So anyhow, if you could give me any advice or travel tips...things to see, how to travel...anything like that i would love it. Your blogs are amazing. thanks a bunch.

Tot: 0.034s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.015s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb