Last day in South America


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
February 16th 2007
Published: February 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Today was to be my last day in South America, as I would be catching a flight to New Zealand at 23:00.

Looks like I picked a good time to go. Today was incredibly wet. I'd had perfect weather for a month and now all of a sudden the weather had turned and it was raining so hard that some streets were flooding.

When the rain eased off and armed with poncho and waterproof I made my way to the post office in the centre. I decided to send back things no longer required home (Cds with photos, Lonely planets on Peru and Chile, new jumper and peruvian hats as preasents). The chap sorting out for me at the post office was quite amusing (even running around with one of the hats at one point) and kept telling me that the two women working on either side of him were really beautiful. The Chileans are really chatty and friendly people and its ashame that my Spanish isnt better. The dude also kept calling me "Mr Jason".

After sorting that out (and touching wood to make sure it arrives home intact) I came to the decision to go and see something which Id been wanting to do for some time.

Chile first came to my attention and interest when I was watching an Michael Palins pole to pole. He stopped off in Santiago and he went and visited its cemetary. I remember it because it transpired that there isnt anything quite like it. Its a town of over the top flamboiant tombs.

Its quite a place. Some tombs are really in your face and they have these hugh blocks (buildings - appartment blocks for the dead!) with row upon row of slots for the poorer families to be layed to rest.

Reality quickley brought me home when walking around a corner I almost walked into a large funeral procession pulling along a mini coffin (obviously child - could have been a midget) on wooden cart. A little embarassed (wearing bright blue poncho, armed with camera) and a little sad I hung my head as they walked past.

Went back to Hoastel and killed time by watching Rocky 6 with a load of other people. Not a bad film quite cheesy and closer to the original then any of the others (Rocky back to being a lovable idiot). I enjoyed it, after having seen so many of the others its become like a soap.

Time came for me to grab the bus to the aeroport. I quickley realised that unlike the rest of Chile the aeroport is incredibly expensive (ludicrously so). Only had three restaurants (I picked the cheapest looking one) and It turned out to be more expensive then eating out at home and the it wasnt that great (soggy chicken).

Flying with LAN, really good. You get your own little screen and you can chose from a selection of films and shows (when you want). Mine had a few glitches with some of the buttons (kept sticking) but I managed. Finally saw Little miss sunshine (was supposed to go see it with my sister but never got round to it - sorry) it was excelent.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0204s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb