New Zealand


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » North Island » Auckland
February 18th 2007
Published: February 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The Sky TowerThe Sky TowerThe Sky Tower

View when exiting the hostel
After having a relatively good flight (getting quite good at these long haul flights) I arrive in Auckland.
Its 4:00 in the morning and yes it is the 18th (miss a day due to the international date line - woo hoo one less day to write about!! 😊

Im forced to wait for a couple of hours to make sure that when I do get doen to the centre the hoastel is open.

The first thing I notice is that every thing is expensive but on first impressions New Zealanders seem to be really friendly and helpful (even at this time of the morning)

Make it to the Hostel (situated smack bang in the centre on Queens street). It appears to be some sort of super hostel. Enough room for 500 people, travel agency services, 2 bars ect. infact its all contained within a nine storied building.

I turn up and am told check in isnt until 1:00. So jet lagged to hell I go for wonder. I don think Ive ever been this jet lagged before. Visited a boarders type book store to kill time and I kept droping everything. Anyway I bought a paper and had a drink at starbucks.

Auckland is nice everyone Id spoken to previously told me to get out asap. But I like it. Very modern and clean. The centre is quite small but the surrounding suburbs stretch for some distance. There is also a hugh Asian population here which is made more noticable by the many kareoke bars, asian news agents and restaurants.

At lunch I stumble across an asian food court. Brilliant everything there under the sun, Korean, Japanese, Chinese, Malasian, Thai and Indian. The food was incredibly cheap, the quantity hugh and as good as anything that I've had before. Having spent a while in South America I noticd and need to get myself out of the habit of saying gracias and por Favour!!

Finally get myself checked in and feeling better due to lunch did a little bit more walking around the centre. One thing I notice in comparison to lets say chile is that all the music is either jazz/classical or up to date pop (like home). In Chile they are still stuck in the 80s. 80s music everywhere.

I get back to the hostel in time for the free barbecue (consisted of one sausage and one slice of bread - but you could have as much ketchup as you liked - result).

Met this American called Brian and a Canadian Couple. Stupidly I decided to go down to the bar with them (buy one get one free voucher in hand). Even more stupidly I discover there is snack bite and black on tap (although with cherry instead of blackcurrent) and feel I have to introduce it to everyone.

Least be said once I got back to my dorm (only at 11:00 id like to add) I was out in a flash.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 82; dbt: 0.1879s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb