ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Santiago
June 17th 2005
Published: June 23rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

I would have to say that even though I suck at it, skiing is the funnest sport....EVER! I had a blast going on the one day ski trip to the Andes Mountains. One reason, it was with a group of fun people from all over (approximatly 25 people). Reason two is because I can say that I have placed my feet on the Andes Mountains; and three, because... well it was just a great experience. I think that I literally chapped my ass because I hit the ground quite a few times. Maybe I was on the ground more times than I was on my skies. Sometimes I found myself even helping some of my fellow bigginers (Bernardo and Joanna). And still, the funny thing is that I hit the ground at the end of the slope with the fear of running into something like I did the first time I went skiing. Sometimes I did the slide in stop, which was really fun and made me look like I knew what I was doing. On the blues and the greens I was doing quite well, almost pro-rific, until the times I got scared at the very end of the slope....then ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST- crash and burn. The funniest part of the trip, for me, was when Dave took me onto a red one. I was on the ski lift, freakin' out because it was makin' a funny noise and because it was swingin' and that just wasn't fun being so high up in a rocking chair thing. Well it was time to ski off of the ski lift, and Dave said...Okay NOW, well I couldn't do it. I waited too long and my feet weren't able to touch the ground anymore. So guess what I did.....I jumped off that puppy into a huge pile of snow (not sure if this is what it's called in English, but the direct translation is "virgin snow"). Oh yeah baby, and there was Dave, the worker and well, a few others there to crack up at my almost suicidal jump. But I just thought, you know the moment that things flash before your eyes, that it would be better to jump off into a huge pile of snow than to make that trip back to where I started, sitting in that lift chair....ALONE looking like the snow lift princess to wave at the other people in passing. Probably more humiliating if it's anything like it was in my mind at the time, but that was my assumption during the moment I jumped. Plus, I said to Dave that I can and will do this!! Well on our trip down to the bottom I got a little freaked out because I was going a little faster than I had liked to even though I was doing the slow down techniques, and...well...you guessed it....I busted it! Only this time I couldn't get my skies back on because I had too much snow trapped between the boot and the skis. So, Dave- great friend- walks his way back up the slope (backwards skiing, so he called it) to come to the rescue and help me out. So we are back on the way down and well I guess we both started going faster than we had liked, once more, because we both bit the dust at the same time yet I was in the middle of the slope and he was at the end! Only this time, I did a tuck and roll about four times. MAN IT WAS FUN! I never thought rolling down a hill full of snow while the snow also makes its way into your pants can be so fun. So, I started to walk my way back up the slope to retrieve my lost poles that I managed to loose during the tumbling action when down the slopes came Brian, "look who it is". Again, I had another amigo to my rescue. Once I got to the end, I called it a done day after that dramatic. It was almost four and I hadn't eaten our free (NASTY) lunch yet and the bus was coming to pick us up at five, which in fact turned out to be around six. Could've had time to bite the dust one more time! On our way back to Santiago it was clear that everyone was tierd and exhausted since the bus was full of sleeping snow bunnies and boys. Once arriving back to Santiago we got us some Pizza Hut and called it an evening. Fun and exciting, while another one bites the dust!!

Advertisement



18th June 2005

Your Alive
Mandy your experiencing a lot in your life time. I have been waiting for another journal. I could see you with the snow in your pant's. I also could picture you jumping off to late. If only you had a movie of it, you could win 1 million dollars on funniest video. HA!HA!HA!
18th June 2005

You sure did Eat It!
Hey girl, that sounds like some adventure. Wow, I can so see your graceful self "eating it"! It sounds like you did it with grace and class though. I'm glad you had such a great time. I've never been but would like to one day. I also want to try ice skating. Well girl, love hearing from you and hope to talk to you soon. Love ya. XOXO
22nd June 2005

Crazy!
I am so proud of you every time I get one of these Travel Blogs! Between the two of us we are traveling girls...next time we just need to do it together.... where to next??? I can't wait to see you when you get home!!!

Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 9; qc: 42; dbt: 0.1208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb