Thursdays


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Santiago Region » Providencia
February 2nd 2017
Published: February 9th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Thursdays are Great




On Thursdays, I don't have classes. It's wonderful, really. Either I spent the whole day catching up on sleep, get to explore my city, go on a hike, do homework (so I don't have to during the weekend), or some combination of all of the above.

Today, I went to see an exhibit in the Cultural Center in La Moneda. It was an art exhibit of the work of Pablo Picasso. It was interesting, but to be honest, art museums aren't exactly 'my thing'. I can enjoy them for a little bit, but I can't spend hours there. So, after that, I headed out to walk to Bellas Artes, an area of the city that I hadn't seen yet. Then, I headed to Cerro Santa Lucia, a large hill in the day. Next, I walked to Bella Vista, where I took the time to walk up and down nearly every street in the little neighborhood (looking for the best deals on food/cerveza, of course!). Then after that, I the center of the city with a castle at the top (yay!). I spent some time taking in the almost 360 view of the city from the top of the castle, before I found a shady spot to relax and do my bible study for walked to Baquedano and then home. You can find these places on a map of Santiago, some of them are spread out! Then after that, I did a running workout with Anna in the afternoons, so I was 'feeling it' the next day!


Previously...




Yesterday, I had the opportunity to go up Cerro San Cristobal in the 'teleferico' (read 'cable car') with Pablo, Catalina, and Natalia, some of the young adults from church. The views were great, aside from the smoke, and it was a wonderful opportunity to hang out with people from church. Also, I tried 'mote con huesillos' for the first time...It's some sort of very sweet beverage that contains wheat grains and a whole peach. It was VERY sweet. If you know me, you know I don't like anything similar to southern sweet tea...it's just...too sweet (heresy, I know). Anyway, I would take mote over sweet tea any day. 😉

Advertisement



Tot: 0.134s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0872s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb