Life in Santiago !


Advertisement
Published: July 3rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone... well one more time, cheers to all the people who took a couple minutes to write me a few words !

Last time I wrote I just got back from Rapa nui (Easter Island) with my dear sister... When I look back on it I realise the chance I had to go there... wow it's fucking incredible ! Unfortunately, I couldn't do any more travel since that trip, for mainly 2 reasons, the lack of time ( I have school almost everyday but I realised it's not such a big deal if you skip class... The thing is I came here to study so I don't really feel like missing it too much) and, like every backpackers, the money is slowly becoming a problem... And i'm trying to save it for my last month. So what I have been doing over the last 2 months ? Well, this isn't going to be super exciting to write ! Hahaha basically just the same stuff as I was doing back home but without the work... So going to school and working out.. And obviously partying too. But not too hard, let's say not as hard as when I was backpacking for the first 3 months ! Speaking of which, I have been gone for almost half a year now... Wow, seems like i've been gone forever and for a week too...

For school, for those who don't know, the Chilean accent is really hard to understand at first. I remember my first class here I couldn't understand anything !!!!! I remember telling myself, what the hell i am doing here for fuck's sake. But now it's all good and i am better. Speaking is a lot easier too. Before coming here the only thing I did was a language school in Spain (where they don't speak the same Spanish) during 3 months and 3 classes at Uni... Not enough, but I figured it out... Most people in my class are really nice too. I have nothing to complain, they are great guys and love to party ! The only thing I hate here is the group projects... because I am the only one who does't speak Spanish perfectly, let's say I am not the first pick to work in team... I am kind of the last option. Like I told to my parents, I feel like the girl at 2h30 in the morning you try because it's your last shot of the night ! So this is how I feel when i am looking for a group, hahahaha. And yeah, my school has been ranked number one school for MBA's student in Latin Amrica... take that Laval University or European Business School ! The only thing I hate is the location of the school which is about 1h away by bus from where I live. They built the university in the mountains, far away from the city center. The place is really nice, you have a nice view of the city but bloody hell, 2 hours of bus everyday just to get to school ! After my first 3 months I thought the bus rydes would be over for a while.. well not even close !

I'm going snowboarding next week-end !! To the moutain called El Colorado.. supposed to be one of the best mountain in Chile !! Really looking forward to it ! Snowboarding in July !! Should be pretty insane !!

I have now less than 3 weeks left here in Santiago... Whats next after ? Well I had an amazing news a coulpe weeks ago when one of my best friends told me he was going to meet me in Brazil !!! We spoke about it a little bit around a Jack Bottle at the Turf (the bar I always go in my city) before I left Quebec but i didn't think he was actually going to do so ! So i am really looking forward seeing him !! The dude is Simon Baillargeon for those who know him. I am flying to Rio de Janeiro on the 23rd and landing the 24th (I have to sleep over at the airport in Montevideo... cheapest ticket !) and Simon is arriving on the 27th I think.. So we are planning to stay in Rio like 5-6 days (Everyone told me it's the best city in the world), then going to the Pantanal which is like the Amazone but closer and a bit cheaper... Florianapolis is on the to-do list too. Then going to the Iguazus falls and to Montevideo, where I have a couple friends and it's where my sister studied for semester so i really want to see it ! And then Buenos Aires... which is supposed to be as good as Rio too... Eating fat steaks all day and drinking cheap wine ! Should be nice. Acording to the schedule (which we probably won't follow but I really want to see these places though) we have about 10 days left.. No plans really, we'll see when we get there and speak to people. And then I am flying out from Buenos Aires the 25th of August to get back to Quebec on the 26th !

Well that's it ! I should update this blog just one more time before I arrive in Quebec !! like I said, if you have a couple minutes to kill, give me some news !!

Much love
Cheers
Bizzxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb