Feb 8th


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Los Lagos » Puerto Varas
February 8th 2011
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Feb 8
So today this girls went bike riding. I woke up a little late so they were ready and went without me. It was good they got to have some girl time and I caught up on emails and packed most of my stuff up. When they got back we had some fruit lunch and Denisse and I booked a rafting trip. She had never been and her friend couldnt go so I went with her. It was the same river but a bit cheaper so I was happy. We had a blast she loved it I'm happy she didn't fall out and get scared haha but she said she was more scared of the bees and flys then the river haha. She even did the jump off the rocks. She said she is really enjoying activities. Haha I can make an adventurer out of anyone.  When we got back from rafting we met the other girls in town and went out for pizza, which was pretty good but not jersey good but gourmetish. It was pouring pretty bad off and on so we just headed back to the hostel after dinner. 

Feb 9
So today we are headed to puerto varas but unfortunately the only bus we could get was at 4pm so we had breaky packed up and headed to the lake beach to kill some time. We ended killing to much time and had to race to the hostel to get our stuff then over to the bus stop luckily we made it though. 
The bus ride wound up being around 6 hours bit longer than we all thought but I enjoyed it because I was with Denisse. Anyway when we caught a taxi to out hostel checked in then went to grab a bite to eat. There was a super cute dog out side. I brought him Annitas left over hot dog. He then followed us home, Denisse and I went to try and buy him some food for him but the restaurant was closed. I was so sad. He tried coming into our hostel. Ahhh I hate stray dogs, alot of them here look clean and well fed but he was super skinny. 

Feb 10
So after breaky, Denisse and walley had to take care of some legal papers. Their mom sold a property and they had to get something signed and notarized and mail it to her. So after that was all taken care of we walked around town a bit, shopping and hangin by the lake. We then were going to take a tour of the lakes and volcano but it was to late so we decided to head to puerto Monte to have lunch. They said the town isn't the nicest but there is a nice place to have food. They were right we had lunch in a cute place on the lake with a view ofthe volcanoes. I had salmon ceviche and salmon with tomatoes, sausage and cheese both were delicious. After lunch we hung by the lake a bit then headed back to puerto varas. Annita went to hang out with some family walley went to do some shopping and Denisse and I went to have some coffee at a cool restaurant overlooking a different lake and volcanoes. 
We had a nice long walk along the lake and went to meet walley who was with her cousin at a sushi restated for dinner. The sushi was delicious, a bit different but very good. I think they are known for salmon here, so it was super fresh. Her cousin's husband wouldn't let me pay anything for dinner. We then walked back town changed and went out for a drink. The girls were pretty tired though so we didn't stay out late. 

Feb 11
Well today we had a super late start all the girls took showers and took ages to get ready. We had hopes of going to Petrohue to go on a boat ride to see some volcanoes but we were to late for the 3pm ride so we stopped at Los saltos to check out some pretty waterfalls. Then we were going to try and catch the 5pm tour but we missed the bus to get us to Petrohue in time. I wanted to go anyway to see the town, so we did and were glad we did we grabbed a bite to eat then walked around the lake a bit it was very pretty even though it was super cloudy and we couldn't see the volcanoes. We couldn't spend to much time there because the last bus back to puerto varas was at 6:00 or so. When we got back we went over to the bar Denisse and I had coffee at the day before. It was a cool bar with corky beer signs and what not. We shared a plate of nachos which were pretty good but missing some jalapinos. We hung out there till the girls got sleepy and we all headed back.

Feb 12
So we had a lateish start today too but it was ok because the weather was crap, it was cloudy and raining. I had to try and buy my bus ticket to barlioche for tomorrow the first place we went to was sold out and the next place was closed till 3. Denisse called the office and they had one ticket left but I had to go to the station to buy it. I didn't want the girls to have to walk al the way up there so I took Denisses phone and ran up. Unfortunately, when I got there it wasn't the right bus stop. The woman there tried telling me where it was, I thought she it was around the block so i ran back there and looked around but there was a hospital back there. Haha so I went back and she gave me better directions this time 4 blocks down then turn right, that's all I got. So I ran out well the blocks were huge and it took me back into town. I asked a cop where it was he told me as well but told me it was far and I should take a taxi or collectivo. I hate bothering with that so I took off running. I made the turn and started out and asked another cop but wasn't sure what he told me until later I think he was telling me to take a bus out there. Anyway I ran on and Denisse called me asking where I was. I told her id look a bit more for it then forget it and just meet them. Well I ran out a bit further and asked another woman and she gave me good directions and we could see the building so I was super lucky. I made it there bought the last ticket and ran back to the other  bus stop which is where the girls were waiting for me, so we could head to Frutilla, just in time too the little local bus came before I caught my breath or get my shirt on.   
When we got to Frutilla it was drizzling a little bit but we walked over to the theater on the lake. It was a very pretty wooden building hanging over into the lake. The girls were talking to guys working there and I thought they scored us a private tour but it turns out their mother bought a bunch of bricks for the theater when they were building it last time they were there. So the theater put her name along with other people who donated money on the glass windows overlooking the lake. 
After that it started raining a bit harder so we headed to eat at a small cafe. After lunch we went around shopping a bit because it was still raining. Then we met the twins cousins again and started walking to a cafe, it started pouring down on us as we walked to a back street and just stood there for a few mins their cousin was laughing because how hard it was raining and how wet we were getting they had brought 2 umbrellas we all were trying to hide under. Finally we ran to some small shelter and their cousins husband went and got their car they took us to there hotel where we warmed up and dried out a bit over coffee. 
When it finally stopped raining we walked back to the theater Denisse wanted to take some photos out on the far lake side of it. 
Annita was still pretty  wet and cold and wanted to head back to our hostel so we ended up saying bye to their cousins and headed back. When we got back Walley and Anita took showers while Denisse and I watched tv in bed. We procrastinated a ton but finally we took showers because I wanted to take Denisse out on a dinner date for my last night. 
We just randomly picked a restaurant down the street and it turned out to be really good. We had salmon carpicho to start with then Denisse had salmon covered in a white seafood sauce it was delicious. I and the lomo de pobre which was a massive steak with a few fried eggs on top, French fries and some grilled onions also delicious. We ended the night with some espresso. 
d p

Feb 13
So I woke up packed up and tried checking out but I called my bank before hand becaue I havent been able to get money out for a while. Well the bank told me my card closed due to fraud and I'd have to call the debit department to try and sort it out and of course it was Sunday and there only open normal business hours. Anyway I tried paying with my credit card but their old school way the woman was trying wasnt working becaue I think she was calling the credit place and it was only open normal hours as well. So I was stuck my bus was leaving for barlioche in the next 1/2 hour or so. The twins offered to pay for me and I'd pay them back either if the visit me in Pichiiemu or when I pas through Santiago. I didn't want them to do that I was just thinkging to change my bus ticket and hopefully sort it out tomorrow am. I tossed ideas back n forth finally I let them pay for me because if there was something wrong and I needed a new card sent mike should be able to help me plus I really wanted to get back on time line surf schedule wise. Anyway they paid for me and then Denisse and I headed to the bus stop we had to take a local bus because we couldn't find a taxi n wouldnt have had time to walk. We made it by 8:40 n the bus was supposed to come by 8:50 it was a little late as usual. Haha I said my sad goodbyes to Denisse and headed onward. 
The boarder crossings went smooth took long time but were alright. 
When I finally got to bariloche I called mike but he still didn't have his truck back so he gave me directions and I took a cab, luckily I had some pasoes left over I could pay the taxi driver when I got there. Mike warmly welcomed me with his 1 year old Teo in his arms. 
We went inside and I met his wife Anna and their friend also named Anna. Mike gave me some food and we sat down and chatted a while. Then both Annas left with Teo. Mike and I walked to a few grocery stores to get some stuff for an asado tonight. When we got back mike gave me a tour of his house which is small but amazing. The view is fanominal and it's all quirky levels and what not. Mike has done some major work to it making it bigger both up and out, pretty intense stuff he has done. Anyway we eventually fired up a fire for the assado and cooked up the blood susage and a filet, both of which were amazing. After dinner we hung out chatting then went off to bed. 

Advertisement



Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0563s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb