Feb 14


Advertisement
Published: February 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Feb 14
So this morning I called the bank and found out that some one had hacked into a merchants account and stole a bunch of people card numbers. The merchant found out contacted visa and then Visa contacted my bank and shut down my card. They wouldn't turn it back on due to the possibility of someone else trying to use it. So I had to get a new one sent to me. I debated for a while on what to do try and make it to pichilemu and have it sent to a hostel there or stay with mike and get it sent here. Although I didnt want to stay long here it seemed the smartest/safest idea. So I had to fax mikes address to the bank  and sort it all out. Unfortunately, the fax near by wasn't working or something so I I had to get a bus over to town. I managed to get it all sorted out by noon in hopes they would get it all ready and mailed today. They allowed me to unlock my card for a few mins so I could hit an ATM to take some money out. It sketched me out at first I tried taking some out and the ATM said it processed and finished but no money came out. I tried again a smaller amount and that worked so I took out 2 other amounts and they worked then I hit the limit of money the ATM would let me take out. So I headed to the grocery store to get some food so I don't scrounge off mike and Anna to much. When i got back they had already ate lunch and had some empinadas for me. They were homemade and pretty good. After lunch we hung out a bit and I tried to practice Spanish a bit. Then for dinner we had the rest of the empinadas and hung out chatting a bunch. 

Feb 15
So today mike and I went to buy some resin to fix one of his severely damaged surfboards. He didn't know how to fix them so I did it for him gonna take a few session though. There are 3 big cracks and the tip of the nose snapped off. It's coming along alright though. 
After lunch which was more homemade but this time chicken empinadas we headed over to a small climbing wall near his property. He set up one route 6a that was a bit of a traverse on sharp lava rock. I decided to lead climb it rather than top rope it, first out door lead climb. Well it was pretty fun but man it was a pumpy climb. I made it to the last bolt clip but couldn't figure out how to make it to the top anchor. I traversed over a bit to far and wound up taking a decent fall because my arms were so pumped and tired. Mike said I should have tried to warn him a bit but he could sort of tell I wasnt doing well. Haha. I did the honorary thing and came down and let Anna climb rather than sit and rest on the rope. I belayed Anna while mike watched Teo this was her first climbing in 2 years and she of course flew up. But she said she had enough and then took Teo to the lake right behind us. I gave the climb another shot after resting a bit I had to have mike "take" so I could rest a few seconds on the rope becaue I kept screwing up the route. Then I finally made it to the top anchor but couldn't get my hands to work to clip in and I started to freak becaue this would have been a big fall. I yelled mike to take all the slack he had just gave me and I tried to climb back down a bit to the last anchor bolt but I got tossed off.  I flipped upside down somehow he said I must have had my leg in a bad spot around the rope and that made me flip. Anyway my attempts failed but it was good fun and I was super pumped something that didn't happen much at all during the course. Mike lowered me down then he had to climb it again to clear all the gear. 
After that we headed over to their property so Anna could get some veggies for the asado the neighbor was having. They have about 6 acres or something and a decent sized garden with the biggest onions and best carrots. Mike and I quickly walked up the little hill in the property so I could see the view of the mts and nearby volcano. It was pretty rad. Then we headed back to their house and washed up for the asado. Which was really good their neighbor had a ton of meat and a very cool house as well. He was a French man but had lived in the states and now Argentina for a number of years. It was a delicious meal with good fun people. We hung out a bit after dinner and Patrick the owner showed me the hosue. Then we headed back over to mikes and hung out a bit more before nicking off to bed. 

Feb 16
So today was a lazy day I worked mikes board for a while and mucked around on the internet. We had a huge lunch then I called the bank and found out that they didn't send the card on Monday like they should have because I had all the info in to them by noon. They mailed it Tuesday still didnt have the tracking number i wanted to talk to a supervisor the woman put me in hold for ages, long distance, on mikes phone and then finally comeback on and said the supervisor would find the tracking number for me today and call me back, I'm so upset I suppose im lucky I'm with mike and not stranded some where else. Anyway they finally called me later that afternoon and gave me the tracking number and its not meant to be delivered until Monday the 21, now I'm even more bummed. I was really hoping for it to be there by Friday I just want to get to the beach and surf and see Denisse again. I then thought I should have had the card sent to Denisse in Santiago and had her either bring it to me in Pichilemu or just go get it from her, at least I could have been over there surfing or with her. Well no use complaining to much now nothing I can do. 
They were having friends over for a pizza night tonight so I helped Anna chop a ton of veggies because she was busy with Teo. 
Well the pizzas turned out pretty well no sauce but everything else was super fresh from their gardens one girl even brought homemade mozzarella. After dinner we hung out a bit debating on whither to do this massive hike tomorrow or not. We couldn't really decide so I nicked off to bed. 

Feb 17 
Counting the days till I get my new card. 
I did a bunch more work on mikes surfboard, I sanded the stuff I did yesterday then decided to glass the FCS plugs in because they were cracking. The board is gonna weigh a ton but hopefully it'll last a while now. It was a heap. Then mike and I spent some time talking about kites and kiteboarding. He offered to sell me a full set up for 400 bucks kite, harness, strings, and a protector vest. Pretty sweet deal I think just be a pain lugging it all around but I've always wanted to learn and don't think I can beat the deal. So I'm gonna do it may try and see if he'll throw in the old board too. Anyway Anna finally  wanted to do something so we headed to the lake by their property. We stopped by their friend house first for a bit. The lake however was beautiful a small nook, no one around other than some kids climbing the rock behind us. I went for a swim into the main section of the lake and wow there were some amazing houses around it, beautiful. We hug out there for a bit then headed back to the house.
 
Mike pealed off the wax on the board and noticed a huge repair patch in the deck that wasn't repaired well at all. So we had to get some more resign and glass it. The board is gonna be so heavy I hope it doesnt snap after all this work. 
We then had dinner and hung out a bit before bed. 

Feb 18th
I checked fedex this am and it looks like it made it to BA this am so there are high hopes to actually have it here by Monday even though everyone keeps saying it'll take a few more days. 
Then I sanded a bit of mikes board I didnt feather it and make it perfect, just enough so it's rideable and smooth. Mike and Anna went to town to do dome errands so I took a shower and washed my cloths. 
When they got back we had lunch then mike and I went to a grassy field so I could try and fly the kite. It's amazing how much wind you really need. We spent a few hours there and I think I was getting the hang of it. Hopefully, I'll get to play around with it abit in chile and Peru. If not cannt wait till I get back to the island. 
When we got back we shared some mate and talked about his surfboards and kiteboards. Then we slapped his old track pad on the board. But not before we took some repair evidence photos haha. She looks battered and bruised because the resign wasnt a surfboard kit it was from a hardware store, it's red. 
After that we made a fire for another assado mike went to his friends house to pick up his new computer that some one brought down for him so I was in charge of the assado. Ive never cooked that big of a hunk of meat slowly on coals. I'm a hot, fast, flame guy but It turned out pretty good I think though, aside from burning the crap out of my thumb tryin to flip the meat over. I'll be lucky if it doenst blister. After dinner mike and talked about making a mt/rock climbing, kiteboarding, surfing video some time or making a kiteboarding/surf tour company. Apparently, I really need to do that this is the second time some one has wanted to start that with me and I have had a number of people who want to travel with me or visit when I start a travel company or become a guide. 

Feb 19
Well the tracking still says in transit in BA. I don't think there's a fedex location here in barlioche but I'm hopping it made it here last night and maybe delivered today or at least make it here today and delivered Monday. Such crap the bank should have had it out sooner. Not sure what were doing today hopefully climb a bit or hike but mike might be messing with his new comp all day. They got invited to yet another assado tonight that I can tag along to, my cholesterol is going to be through the roof by the time I get home. Haha I don't know how they aren't fatter or have heart problems with the amount if meat they eat. I managed to find a Mac program so I could give mike my music and videos. 
Then I sorted my stuff and packed up after lunch then decided to go for a hike up the mt behind their house. They said it shouldn't take long 20 mins to a place where I could boulder around and 40 mins to the top where the gondola goes. Well it took me around 2 hours to get with in another 10 mins or so from the gondola so they either move like lighting or have a terrible sense of time. I had to run most of the way back down to get back in time for the assado. I didn't get to boulder at all but the view was pretty nice. It was a easy hike most of it was switch backs on a road. Anyway when I got back I showered and we all got ready to do to their friend James/hiney house for the assado. He had some of his family down for a while as well as some of his clients he and just led them on a trip somewhere down south. Anyway the food was pretty amazing as usual tons of meat, a bit of chicken, salad and a potato salad. We hung out till the full moon came up around 10:30/11 then headed home and nicked off to bed. 

Feb 20 mikes birthday
So I got up early because we were meant to hike some other larger mt today with one of his mutual friends or something. Well I got up and waited about an hour before mike got up. He checked his email and the other guy bailed because he and hurt his knee apparently. I don't think mike really wants to do it because it's suppose to be a pretty big tough hike 4-5 hours up then the same down. He said we could either do that or maybe climb today. I'd like to do both wish we would have done the hike the other day and climb today but I don't think mike really wants to do anything. He did say he hurt his elbow a few days before I got here and it hurts him when he climbed the other day. So he's trying to avoid that and he also is saying that he climbs here are to hard for me. So I'm kind of disappointed that I haven't done much here after I made a point to come visit and climb with him, what can you do. Its also hard because of his 1 year old. 
I defiantly have been pretty much just wasting away here, it's nice I have had a place to stay while my card comes to me but would have been nice to do some stuff. Especially after the fist day they said there's so much to do I should take advantage go out to the Freyto climb or hike other places. But they said I should take the bus but that was before the truck got fixed the next day the truck was fixed, I thought they would be keen on taking me around but hasn't been that way. I wish my card didn't get shut off I'd be surfing in chile by now. Hopefully well do something cool today I'll get my card tomorrow and get back on the road. I'm pumped I bought mikes kiteboard kit though. 


Advertisement



Tot: 1.359s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 9; qc: 41; dbt: 0.9671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb