A long over-due update!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Atacama » Copiapó
February 9th 2011
Published: March 9th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Hello all and sorry about the long delay with these pics!

Things have been busy since I got back to Chile at the end of December, so here are a few little notes on what I've been up to the last couple months, and I'll just let the pictures speak for themselves!

Laura came with me and spent the last couple weeks of her winter break down here and we had a great time!

My good friend Alvaro moved in with me, and it was really nice not living alone any more! He became sort of my big brother and it worked out really well for me having a man around to fix things and drive me around, but I also got a humbling look into a reality that was once worlds away from my own. He comes from a very poor neighborhood, has lived on the street, and now doesn't really have any sort of family other than his son. I've been friends with Alvaro for about two years, but we obviously got a lot closer living together and I was really sad to leave Copiapo.

I made a trip to La Serena to do some university paperwork and visit my friends there. I went to the valley for a few days with Laura's ex-host family and Cote and I worked at the campground they have there. Tio Rodrigo has built a mud dome where he intends to live on the campground and we all got to meet his new grandbaby when his daughter and her husband came to visit!

more updates coming soon!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 59, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Outside of Copiapo...Outside of Copiapo...
Outside of Copiapo...

... Jano and me on the bike
the streets of Copiapo...the streets of Copiapo...
the streets of Copiapo...

... with Laura and Alvaro on the bike!
Arm Wrestling 1Arm Wrestling 1
Arm Wrestling 1

Jano vs. Me
Arm Wrestling 2Arm Wrestling 2
Arm Wrestling 2

Alvaro vs. Jano
Arm Wrestling 3Arm Wrestling 3
Arm Wrestling 3

Alvaro vs. Laura


Tot: 0.361s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 51; dbt: 0.2567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb