Lake District Chile


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Pucón
February 8th 2006
Published: February 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Vulcano Villarica, the one we climbedVulcano Villarica, the one we climbedVulcano Villarica, the one we climbed

While we were having dinner at the campsite, we got this amazing view of the vulcano we climbed
After Pitchilemu..I decided to try some hitchhiking!! First impression was great!! I was offered a place to sleep at the end of the day in a place with a swimmingpool (Yeah ofcourse I used it) and had a great meal there!! And the next day went pretty fast as well so I arrived in Pucon. There I met Bob and Alwin again. We all thought first of staying here only a couple days..but we kept postphoning leaving the place because we had too much fun.
The second day we climed the volcano Villarica, It was awesome to see the lava from upclose...But the Sliding down in the snow was the highlight of the day!! the ascent was a bith thougher because we did't get that much sleep the night before (no it was not to late, the tour just started too early!! see the picture!)
The rest of the days we enjoyed our self at the beach on the lake and in the park picknicking.
We even got invited for a posh kind of aniversary party from a tapasbar/club...Free drinks and tapas from 9 till midnight!! you didn't hear us complain!
After 5 days hanging out in pucon I had to
well deserved cold beer!!well deserved cold beer!!well deserved cold beer!!

After climbing vulcano villarica this was our well deserved beer!! Oh sorry I was confused, this was the evening before......maybe that was the reason that we were sweating that much on the vulcano!!
move...because I was exhausted from the fiestas!! So I continued my way south (and a bit east) heading for Bariloche in Argentina


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

spitting lavaspitting lava
spitting lava

At first when we came near the crater...we just saw a bit of an orange flame....but 10 seconds later it was a bit more impressive!!!
gliding down on our butt!!gliding down on our butt!!
gliding down on our butt!!

Over 3 hours of climbing up and within a few minutes we were back again. With a special pants we could slide down (fast!!!) it was awesome!!
Lake I don't know anymore!Lake I don't know anymore!
Lake I don't know anymore!

I left Pucon hitching and got rides trough the beatiful lake district. I had to take a ferry to the Argentinean border....again with great views!!


8th February 2006

Yo dude, wederom super verhalen! Meest indrukwekkend toch wel de tafel met EIGEN BIERTAP! respect. Keep on rockin' mate.
9th February 2006

Hoi Matthijn, Goed om te horen dat je je nog steeds prima vermaakt. Ik had niet anders verwacht! Geniet ervan! Ik ga maar weer 's wat schilderwerk doen in ons nieuwe huis... X Arjette

Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 18; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb