Kayaking and Hiking in the south!!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Los Lagos » Chiloé Island
February 19th 2006
Published: February 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Campfire in Nat. Park ChiloeCampfire in Nat. Park ChiloeCampfire in Nat. Park Chiloe

2 day hike along the pacific coast of Chiloe, sun, rain, wind they have it al on the island.....here with some chilenos (and a german)
After doing 2 days of kayaking in Bariloche...yeah I finaly control the eskimoroll now. I relaxed a bit in the city in the mountains....before I started to make my way back to Chili....Guess I was lucky with my ride, the car that stopped had to go to the same place as I wanted to go...so 4 hours later and 2 times the paperwork at the boarder I was back in Chili.
there I found out that Hitchhiking even works with two guys (and two great backpacks).
I met an American Guy there when freecamping at the lake side, and together we went to a Nat. Park to hike a couple days along vulcano Osorno and some beautiful lakes and mountains.
days later I made my way to Chiloe, an Island a bit smaller than holland do some more hiking.
Different from the rest of Chile because it rains so much here (reminds me of home) but even with the rain it's beatiful
On my way to the nat. park I met some chilenos who wanted to do the same hike, so I joined them and on the road we picked up a German in our group aswell. So with a mix
hiken in het lake district chilehiken in het lake district chilehiken in het lake district chile

With an american guy that I met, we hiked in the mountains and climbed a small peak for some great views
of English and Spanish we spent the day hiking and talking along the coast and the night talking besides the campfire!
Some good days again
Next will be the carretera austral in Chilenian Patagonia...can't wait to enjoy the rest of the country



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Ferry naar PatagoniaFerry naar Patagonia
Ferry naar Patagonia

After hanging out with some Chilenos I took the boat further to the south, where I started to hitchhike on the desolated but gorgeous Caretera Austral
Glaciar In Quelat Nat. ParkGlaciar In Quelat Nat. Park
Glaciar In Quelat Nat. Park

Free camping next to the road (always good if there are others that do the same) and at 6 in the morning to the glaciar to save the 3000 pesos... chileis soo expensive so this is the way do do it


27th February 2006

Dat vond ik ook helemaal super: reizen met coole gasten uit verschillende landen! Veel plezier nog, maar dat zal wel lukken! Groetjes, Arjette

Tot: 0.037s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb