A Journey and a Half!


Advertisement
Chile's flag
South America » Chile » Araucanía » Pucón
November 21st 2008
Published: November 21st 2008
Edit Blog Post

I caught the 9.15 am bus from Pucon to Santiago. I felt sad leaving Pucon after having such a wonderful time and will miss my memories made there. I decided to get a day bus so I can able to spend a minimum time in Santiago and get my connecting overnight bus to Mendoza. The bus journey was uneventful but long!! It took around about eleven hours to reach Santiago and it was a nice opportuity to ride through Chile´s Central Valley, which is beautiful. I was so glad to get off the bus and use the time to use the bathroom, check my emails and get something to eat. Whilst I was eating, I was watching the news on TV and there had been strikes across Chile involving the Civil Servants. I wondered if this would affect my journey across Mendoza because of immigration and customs staff. I decided then to make my way to the bus stand to find out what is happening and whether or not the bus is running. However, I saw my bus in the stand and people were queuing to get on. So my bus was running after all and I was off to Mendoza! Like my previous journey it was pretty uneventful other than doing the border formalities. I felt strangely uncomfortable on the bus despite it being a semi cama. The guy in front decided, just as we were setting off, to fully recline his seat and I had no choice but to do the same. I did not want to go to sleep straight away but to make myself more comfortable I had to be in a lying position. I did drop off and before I knew it we were in Mendoza. Although I had the window´s curtains drawn, I had a little peak out and admired the clear dark skies with the stars as we were travelling through the Andes. On arrival, I felt, somewhat, in a low mood, which I never yet experienced on my trip.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0717s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb